Brake Hose Vehicle Hack - Homestead Mechanics

in #diy6 years ago


On my way home today, I notice that my brakes were going out. I pulled in and sure enough, my rear driver-side tire was covered in brake fluid. My center hose had cracked and was spraying fluid anytime the brakes were depressed.

For a quick fix, cut the hose and screw in a bolt. Large threaded bolts work best and will hold tight until you can get the hose replaced. This will prevent your master cylinder from draining and still allow you to use your front brakes until you can get the replacement part or get to a shop.

The replacement part for this center brake hose is $19.95 at my local auto parts store.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Can anyone else get this video to play? i can't

It played fine on my phone. Is that jack the one that is on sale this week? I need to get one of them too. I watched an offtheranch video where he was swapping the rims on his muscle car and that floor jack made that job a breeze.

Yes I see it, some times it takes a while before they can be seen.

It's playing for us. 👍 I'm not mechanical AT ALL, but looking forward to the creek haha

I cannot upvote this...keeps giving an error when I hit the Thumbs Up button: Could not vote Unknown error

Ahhh yes the creek! Sooooo refreshing on hot days! I don't have a creek nearby where I live and there is NO way I am getting in the Illinois River!

not able to get it to play. But I wanted to stop by and say hello. I lost your channel on YouTube and was able to find it again today and found your video that said you were moving over here.

Put a hose clamp on that hose to help retain the screw. Clean your tires off, the brake fluid will soften the rubber.

The video runs on the android, but not the desktop (ubuntu OS).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.72
ETH 2683.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80