Fancy Brackets

in #diy7 years ago

I'm planning on putting up a shelf over my wardrobe in the spare room to store boxes of fabric, craft supplies etc. Brackets are a practical way to keep a shelf hung on a wall, but there's no reason that they can't be attractive too.

I found these brackets (below), from The Door Knocker Company.

At 15cm x 12cm, they're a bit small for the planned size of my shelf. The large size is only made in cast iron, and while these are very fine brackets, they're just not shiny enough for my magpie tendencies. Hammerite Direct To Rust metal paint is made in both smooth finish and hammered finished gold. This paint does exactly what it says on the tin, and requires virtually no prep work. Perfect for an impatient perfectionist!

All three brackets side by side. From left to right; the cast iron bracket, the cast iron bracket with a coat of gold paint, the small brass bracket.

20180211_111654.jpg

The cast iron bracket, painted.

painted bracket.jpg

The brass bracket.
single brass.jpg

The comparison.
brass brackets.jpg

The Hammerite has done a good job, but I'd still like these to be shinier. I'm going to invest in some Rust-Oleum Metallic Spry Paint, and see how that goes.

Thanks for having a look, and hope you enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75