Aquaponics Build Log #3 6/30/2019

in #diy5 years ago (edited)

I completed the cone tank stand the other day and this post will walk you through the rest of the stand construction.

I started by cutting 8 pieces of 2x4 braces support at 45deg using my miter saw.

After all these were cut I took them over to screw into stand.

The prices were lined up to sit flush with the top of the frame. Two 3" deck screws were used to attach to the 2x4 frame and 1scre was used to attach to the 4x4 post.

Using a chainsaw my Dad helped cut the tops of the 4x4's.

This is how it looked after the tops were cut off.

I did make one big oopsie here that needed to be corrected. The supports that I installed on the inside of the frame would interfere with the diameter of the cones.

I had to bust out my jigsaw and cut away the parts of the block that would keep the tanks from fitting properly.

It worked well by making my cuts then knocking out the peices with a flathead screwdriver.

I attached my plywood cutouts to the top of the frame and screwed the in place with some 2" deck screws. I back filled the holes for my support legs and tamped in the dirt well to help make the stand super solid. It worked out fantastically and now I will begin running the plumbing from the main fish tank to the cone tanks for the solids removal and filtration.

Thank you for checking out this post and stay tuned for more on this build!

Yours in liberty toward a brighter future,
Greg Doud @makinstuff

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hi, @makinstuff!

You just got a 0.07% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65435.53
ETH 3559.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48