My Pride and Joy – DIY Paper Mache Elfy OutDoor Christmas Decor

in #diy7 years ago (edited)

I could really kick myself for not taking all the photos of the progress and on how I made my own Stand-Alone Paper Mache Elf, for my Shop’s Christmas outdoor Decoration.

I did do a few although the quality isn’t the best I still wanted to share my pride and joy.

20938781_10214089144929306_1540121075_n.jpg

I used strong card rolls recycle from a local tailor, you know the ones that are used to roll the materials on, some of them were 2 meters long and were perfect to cut to the size. I also used the good old newspaper and some stiff card.

I searched high and low on the internet for help and ideas how to make one, but at the time never found anything so just jumped in and thought I would play it by ear…

The legs, the arms the head and the body were all constructed separately and then assembled.

My hardest challenge was getting the proportions right and what really made me struggle was the head.

I remember I kept on measuring the circumference of my own head and kept on adding gluey paper until I got the size just about right!!!

1.jpg

1.1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

I started off by making the feet, o I wish I had a photo of these as to start off with they looked like ballerina shoes. I basically just scrunched up some newspaper and started building from there.

It was around January time when I started it which in a way was perfect as we had an open wood fire going on every night, so each evening when I finished adding more paper to my creation and fire had almost died down I would leave the wet pieces near to dry out.

By the June came around he was all done; I used pretty small pieces of white paper to finish him off so that I had a nice clean base ready to paint him and then I left him on our veranda to dry our properly over the summer.

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

My son will not be happy if he knows I have shared this photo lo but I wanted to show just big Efly was, even though a few years later I had a photo with him too lol!!!

15200_556401674466030_4354832645320221964_n.jpg

My daughter helped me to paint him and that was the a really fun part.

11.jpg

For the socking’s on his legs, I used pieces of lace, that I first just sprayed with a bronze coloured paint, then using my hands covered in glue I modelled the lace on to the legs, once they were dry enough I painted them with a gloss paint.

12.jpg

For the edging on his coat, again I used a lace, this time I used a gold spray paint, although it came out more like bronze, which worked quite well all the same.

13.jpg

14.jpg

15.jpg

The edging on his collar is the same lace just sprayed with red paint.

16.jpg

The eyes were taken from a one of my kid’s old soft toy as was the white pompon

17.jpg

In this image below you can my snowman in making too lol

18.jpg

Here is a photo of him standing in my homemade outside garden in from of my cake shop

19.jpg

And finally one of me and him together

20.jpg

o yes nearly forgot the finished Snowman

21.jpg

here is the full collection of all my homemade outdoor Christmas Decorations

22.jpg

Have a Great Steeming Weekend Folks

Arriverderci until Soon!

Susanna @lobbylux
Sort:  

o wow! wow! wow! and wow! again i am blown away thank you soo much to everyone that has upvote my post, i actually got emtionally seriously!!!!

i was sat at my mums computer, yesterday afternoon, in reality waiting for news from her as she was in hospital having an eye operation,

so to take my mind off things thought i would share this little project of mine,

anyone know the feeling you post something and especailly at the beginning you check it out of any reactions, well last night before i went to bed, there was nothing lol

and then just now was about to get started on another post to find this truly wonderful wonderful suprise,

the funny thing is while yes the money is a bonus but what got me emotional more than anything is that you folks appreicated what i had shared

thanks yo all again xxxx

Very good still want to share happiness

thnak you for stooping by have a wonderful weekend xxxx

Very nice thank for sharing

Thank you sooooooo much

Your efforts have produced great results.

It is so coooooool :D
Have a nice day..

hiya @dmsqlc0303 thanks a million

Congratulations @lobbylux! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

nice creativity and hard work there. How much hours did it take to make this?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60805.28
ETH 2912.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59