Old SINGER sewing machine, now my new coffee table!

in #diy6 years ago (edited)

image.png

Hey people! We are at it again.😁

There's an old saying in my country.

Need is the best teacher!

I will confirm that one 😉.

Straight in the subject. I love coffee! Nope, that's not even close.
I am addicted to coffee!
Now sounds more real 😌. Anyway, I moved recently and we (my wife and me) feel like ten years ago, when we first moved together. No furniture or anything else around 🙄. Which also means that I don't didn't have a coffee table.
Eh, I can't describe the pain of working with my laptop on a chair and my beloved cup of coffee somewhere on the ground. Plot for horror story, believe me.
Until one day when I stood up and made the statement of my life

I need a coffee table!

Said and done. I went straight to my parents house which is just across the street and put my hands on a hundred years old sewing machine who was laying in a corner. Of course I was so excited and I forgot to take a picture before taking off all the unnecessary parts, so you have to take my word for it 😋.

IMG_20180418_184219.jpg


Step number two! I went in the attic and confiscated some scrap wood planks, left behind by Moa a few years ago, from another unfinished project of mine. A bedroom for my nephew (really hope I will find the time to finish it this year 😅).
Here's a picture, all the paneling is made in the backyard from ordinary wood planks.


IMG_20180418_193427.jpg


Yeah, it was quite a challenge. Anyway, back to my coffee table 😁.
Got the materials, yaay!


JPEG_20180418_191054.jpg


Of course I got to absorbed working on it, and I forgot again to take pictures of the steps. Quick measure, cutting, made the holes, found the right screws (lucky 😎). Et Voilà!


IMG_20180419_134708.jpg


Almost done, just some final touches 😉.


IMG_20180420_131251.jpg


IMG_20180420_131654.jpg


Of course, my son helped me all the time 😤!

And that dog is our newest member of the family, it was on the street and that was enough for my wife 🤯. I have three dogs now, 😵🤪. At least it's not ugly 😌.

Finally! I introduce to you...
THE COFFEE TABLE!

IMG_20180420_175325.jpg


IMG_20180420_175404.jpg


IMG_20180420_175420.jpg


IMG_20180420_175437.jpg


IMG_20180420_175755.jpg


Please keep in mind that I am not a carpenter and I am quite lazy as well. If I start something and is not finished in a day or so, it may remain unfinished forever 😅.
I know is not the most beautiful coffee table, but is mine 😊. And now I can finally drink my coffee and write this post without searching for that cup 😁.

Tomorrow I will start with gardening, so there's a chance for a post about that in a few days 😉.

Also, let me know if you guys want to get my little DIY projects recorded on video. It takes a lot more, and I will not gonna stress out, unless there's demand for this.

This is it, until next time don't forget to have some fun 😉.

Sort:  

Great work, I love your new coffee table.. or shall I say The Coffee Table! since it deserves a lot of recognition. I love diy but I’m too lazy to start my own projects. It’s great that you’re getting your son involved, bet he enjoyed it!

Thank you 😃. You will start when the time is right 😉.

It’s great that you’re getting your son involved, bet he enjoyed it!

And you will win that bet. He mostly enjoy to make a lot of mess, but I just can't get angry on him. Two days ago I was fixing some holes in the fence and I took my eyes of him just for half minute or so. Next thing I know, the whole yard was only metal wires and my son running around with what was left from the coil. All I can tell you is, I didn't finished that fence yet 😅.

Unde-s doi puterea creste si creativitatea sporeste! Felicitari! Asa transmitem copiilor nostri pasiunea pentru transformarea obiectelor ,,de aruncat" in obiecte utile! Toate cele bune!

Totul este mai frumos când facem lucrurile împreună și cu zâmbetul pe buze. Multumesc, sper că pot oferii un exemplu privind reducerea risipei la care asistăm 😃. Un weekend minunat îți doresc !

ABSOLUTELY love this sewing table transformation. My mom actually has two of these in her townhouse- one was hers and the other is my maternal grandma's. Never one thought to recycle them.

Nothing makes me more happy that knowing that I bring ideas in people's mind. Thank you for letting me know that, my day is a lot more sunny now 😃!

15243106928202442932337340020930.jpg

Chiar îmi place! Acuma fă și niște scaune 😂

Mă gândesc la asta, doar că o să mai dureze un pic 😉.

Genius is a great post, so you countless
Thank you so much for fun, funny writing. I'm a general steemit user. I want to follow the wonderful people like you. Please give me upvote and follow me.

Hey, just wanted to let you know I gave you an upvote because I appreciate your content! =D See you around

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84