Homemade coffee scrub - DIY

in #diy8 years ago (edited)

Winter has finally come and snow changed the whole neighborhood into winter-wonderland. As much as I love that snow means skiing season, I am annoyed with the very cold temperature which means dry skin. And dry skin means: it is time for some serious exfoliating and moisturizing.  Today I run out of my coffee scrub and I thought that I will share steps I do to prepare it. I use this coffee scrub during my morning shower because the smell of it wakes me up like nothing else during the dark winter mornings (drinking coffee by itself might be the only better thing). Also I really like how smooth my skin gets and that the coconut oil in the mix leaves a protecting film on the skin that keeps it protected even from the coldest temperatures. As for preparation I don't have a specific coffee to oil ratio so each batch is a little bit different.

I hope you will enjoy it!!

Suzanah

What you need:

  • Coffee - use fine ground coffee for gentle exfoliation. I use used coffee from my espresso maker, but fresh grounded coffee is great too. 
  • Coconut Oil - great moisturizer. I like to use a mixture of 75% coconut oil and 25% olive oil. Coconut oil is solid at room temperature and it will keep the scrub together while the olive oil (or any other oil that is liquid at room temperature) eases scooping the scrub from the container.
  • Optional: 1 tbs of Brown sugar or crystallized honey - exfoliates, while locking the moisture in the skin cells
  • Optional: few drops of Chamomile Essence oil - reduces irritation, has antiseptic properties and has calming effect

Steps:

1. Use boiling water to disinfect bowl, spatula and container. Grind coffee, if you have coffee beans.

2. Dissolve coconut oil over double boiler (if you want to use another oil mix it with the coconut oil). Remove from heat when dissolved.

3.  Add sugar/honey and ground coffee and mix well. Add chamomile essence oil mix and pour in a container.

When mix cools down to room temperature, coconut oil will cause the scrub to have a very dense but easy to scoop consistency.

Sort:  

oooo i love exfoliators, and this one sounds lush - going to give this a go- nice little stocking fillers as well for Christmas and for those extra friends...

Thank you!! I am doing whole bunch of skin care products this year for all of my friend. As you said they are great stacking fillers :)

This might just make me and my partner into morning people. Great post!

Thanks!! And it is worth trying :D

I bet that does smell good! Here in Oregon's Willamette Valley, it's time our skin can finally hydrate, because it is wet, wet, wet here, lol. Here's to happy skin!

Yey! Cheers for the happy skin!! You must have a similar weather to the one in the UK at the moment, I used to live in England for some time and winters were mild but wet. But I missed the snow too much so I moved. And you are right the scrub does smell amazing!!

I do miss the snow. I used to live in Michigan and I loved the cross-country skiing, winter camping, and ice fishing. That kind of winter is a lot harder on the skin, that's for sure. Enjoy your scrub!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68845.40
ETH 3281.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65