Making that Blanket I saw on Etsy!

in #diy6 years ago

Alright so I saw this adorable blanket on Etsy for something like $70 and since I’m about to have a little munchkin of my own I figured I wanted one. But I’m the type that hates buying things when I know I could make it myself… so I did.

I got a floral print I liked and then the furry stuff that the girl used on her super cute ones she sells. I wanted a circle instead of a square so I cut out the 2 pieces:

I have a sewing machine. But I’m a wreck at using it so I usually just stitch everything by hand using embroidery floss because it’s thick and burly and I feel like thread just breaks. But first to get the whole thing even I did little fastener stitches all around the edge opposite each side. Oh yeah and I sewed it together inside out… that’s a must, don’t forget that part.

Here’s some hand stitching… I’m no master at this.

You can see it stitched almost all the way around until I left a gap to pull it all through so that the stitching is on the inside and the whole thing is no longer inside out…

This is it no longer inside out. I’ve just got about 4 inches to hand stitch and finish it off.

The end result:

It took me about 45 minutes once I had the materials on hand. Probably took longer to choose the fabrics to be honest! There are way too many choices!

Hope you like it! Maybe you can give it a try!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55