Rehabilitating Clearance Keychains

in #diy5 years ago

I found some aquatic-themed keychains at a craft store, marked down to $1.50 or so apiece. It was a bit hard to tell what was wrong with them inside their packaging, but at that price, I decided to buy them. It turns out that they had cheap acrylic "gemstones" socketed into their designs, and each was missing one of the gems.

20190223_012252.jpg

I poked at the gems each keyfob still had, and they popped free with almost no pressure. Hooray for cheap Chinese manufacturing. At first, I thought I would repurpose them without any gems, but then I thought of seeing whether any of my collected clockwork findings would fit. I reattached the gems I had with super glue, and added gears to the back of each critter where there was still a socket in the casting as a replacement for the missing gems.

20190223_012334.jpg

I braided some hemp cord to turn the seahorse into a necklace. I plan to give this to my sister. I may use the key ring itself on my own keychain, because I want to see if I like hooking my keys to a belt loop. The turtle keychain will be added to my sale collection.

Sort:  

That was pretty neat of a idea 💙. Love how both turned out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64153.02
ETH 3205.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63