Making a Blue Necklace

in #diy5 years ago (edited)

20181202_095757.jpg

I found some interesting clear glass beads with blue swirls that reminded me of the marbles I had as a kid. I may have lost my marbles (heh!) but inspiration can still strike, so I bought them along with some smaller blue glass beads and made this necklace!

20181202_095459.jpg

There were only 11 large beads on the strand, and glass beads can get quite heavy. I don't imagine people want too much weight around their necks all day, so I used the smaller blue beads for most of the overall length. Using them as spacers between the larger beads helps keep the piece looking consistent and allows the whole necklace to flex more fluidly. This is especially important because it is strung on beading wire instead of a polymer stretch cord or even monofilament.

20181202_101521.jpg

As you can see here, I left a few millimeters of room at the end of the strand before forming a loop with a crimp bead. This allowed space for the beads to move as the wire flexes and thus doesn't add stress to the crimp. It also made it easier to affix the crimp bead cover. The crimp bead cover is a C-shaped thin metal piece that looks like a shiny silver bead after it has been properly closed, and makes the ugly crimp mess into something attractive. Finally, to finish the necklace, I used jump rings to link short segments of chain and a clasp for closure. I also made sure several slightly different lengths were all options.

20181202_101314.jpg

If you would like more details about using crimp beads or any other aspect of making necklaces like this one, please comment below! And I apologize for any typos that resulted from composing my post on my phone

Sort:  

demasiado bella esa creación,aqui lo llamamos collar que lindo@jacobtother saludos seguimos en contacto

Muy bonitos los collares amigo las cuentas de vidrio deben pesar jajaja. Bueno no colocándole muchas. Tengo una tía que le encanta la bisutería y elabora en alambre y con hilos de colores collares , gargantillas y alajas zarcillos para poder sostener a su familia. Saludos lq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95