Make Your Own Steampunk... Can Opener???

in #diy7 years ago

Yes, I have desecrated the venerable P-38 can opener. I carry an unsullied P-38 on my keychain, but I decided to make these to give to some of my co-workers as a semi-useful gag gift related to some projects we have been working on.

I have a collection of brass gears and other clockwork pieces from an authentic broken clock that was definitely only capable of being right twice a day. The result of applying a little imagination to these odds and ends is a silly decorative addition to a very utilitarian item.

Can openers Photo by the author

Materials:
P-38 can openers (generally acquired from a local army surplus store)
Super glue (I used Loctite Gel Control Super Glue)
Clockwork bits to taste

Construction
Dry-fit chosen components to ensure they will not interfere with the folding blade. Apply glue. Place components. Wait until the glue is dry. Post self-congratulatory Steemit article. Never mind. That last step is now superfluous, because I already did it here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72