Creatively Using Up Some Leftovers!

in #diy6 years ago (edited)

My year-old jewelry making project has resulted in a scary accumulation of supplies, so every now and then I make an effort to turn leftover beads, bits, and bobs into something creative!

20181027_104257.jpg

The necklace uses a leftover owl pendant on a leather cord. I wanted to do something more than just clipping off another length of necklace chain here, and I had a bail that has a fairly snug fit around the cord, so it all came together.

The earrings all use a pale copper color that I had in considerable quantity and had not needed for many projects since most of my copper is much more of a vibrant orange. Nonetheless, I had some eye pins, ear hooks, and jump rings so I got creative with my bead stash and also decided to use some tassels that came in a findings assortment I bought recently that matched well with this metallic tone.

20181027_105426.jpg

I also bought some black findings. I am not too happy with the head pins and eye pins because the coating used to make them didn't bond well to the metal, and it cracks and flakes off when the metal is bent. I found that out when I made these earrings to use up some chunky beads. The jump rings are bent less when used properly, and seem none the worse for wear after the fact, but pliers with soft jaws are still recommended.

The necklaces are just a way to use some odd charms. I am sure someone will like the steampunk flair of the watch face. I have no idea what to do with my stash of what look a bit like ibex horns, so the right-most necklace is a test.

Sort:  

@jacobtothe, In my opinion, it's an great art when we can use the Leftovers and for sure you've added your creativity in this work. And truly saying if everyone try to make something with the leftovers then we can use many stuff into the aspect of creativity instead of wasting the leftovers. And i want to say that may be you are doing this from one year but your work is reflecting the Professional aspect.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

You are doing nicely in your jewelry making. Lovely pieces and good use of leftovers.

Jewelry makes a woman beautiful. The necklace is very nice

I think a beautiful woman needs no adornment, but your praise of my work is welcome nonetheless.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41