DIY WOOD WORK (Rustic Burnt art) - Home Decor

in #diy6 years ago

Last week, I went into this cafe and saw wood art furniture and home decorations being displayed in their shop, and thought for my self "Hey! I can do this!". And then when I went home, I remembered I had extra wood to work on my own home decor. It was then I decided I'm going to make one.

Every house maker desires to renovate his home with the ultimate design of furniture items. If you are also one of them who are planning to refurbish and renovate his place with new wooden furniture items, then you must have the wish of bringing change in your house’s atmosphere with stylish furniture products. And if you are looking to decorate your bedroom with wooden bed frames, headboards, and side tables, then you will find recycled wooden pallet planks as the best option for it.

Wood craft is perfect as amazing ordinary and unusual household items. These may include basic furniture to cater your needs or innovative and creative decorative items to enhance the character of your home’s interior decor and bring to it a personalized touch. And this is always more satisfying to do it in very less amount of money. PWood can also be used to build a variety of items apart form normal household requirements, items of an extended utility. In this article we will bring to you such amazing ideas of extended value and utility.

So here is my own version of the wood art and then I also included the steps on how I did it.

DSC_0088.JPG

So this is the wood art I made. This is to be hanged on the wall to complement the house color which is green. I thought it might be nice to put some rustic wood art on it so it might have a homey and antique vibes on that part of the house.

These are the steps I did to create my wood art.

  1. This is the wood I used. It is a 2" by 1" woos, and the length is 2.4 M. It cut it into 2"x2"x1" cube using a wood saw.
    DSC_0016.JPG

  2. These are the wood cuttings. The dimension is 2"x2"x1".
    DSC_0020.JPG

  3. However, these wood cuttings are not smooth, so I used a rough sand paper to smooth the edges and the surface.
    DSC_0019.JPG

  4. After sandpapering the wood cuttings, these are the smooth products.
    DSC_0027.JPG

  5. Using wood glue, I glued the wood cuttings into a flat plywood in rows and columns but the positioning is random to create an effect of asymmetry.
    DSC_0028.JPG

  6. These is how I glued them.
    DSC_0031.JPG

  7. I then put a 2nd layer of glued wood cuttings.
    DSC_0037.JPG

  8. To create a rustic and burnt effect, I poured on gasoline on it and literally lit it on fire.
    DSC_0051.JPG

  9. I let it burn and visually check it. I then put some more gasoline on to some parts to create a more burnt effect on that particular area.
    DSC_0053.JPG

  10. This is the burnt effect.
    DSC_0058.JPG

  11. To coat the wood art and give it a more homey look, I applied varnish coating on it's surface.
    DSC_0073.JPG

  12. This is how I applied it. Observe the difference between the part without coating and the part with the varnish coating.
    DSC_0075.JPG

  13. This is how it looks with the varnish coat. The wood vibes has been brought out by the coating.
    DSC_0082.JPG

  14. After the coating has dried, I tried putting it on the wall. It looks very nice and homey. Just like how I wanted it.
    DSC_0092.JPG

  15. DONE!!!
    DSC_0088.JPG

SO THAT WAS IT GUYS!!!

My DIY Wood Work with rustic and burnt effect.
I really Hope you enjoyed it!

National_Thank_You_Day.png

Please support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.
If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.
Please like @teardrops on Facebook and Twitter:
https://www.facebook.com/teardropstokens/
https://twitter.com/teardropstokens

U5drYEJccwHP8kXPdFQJFcLpDkW27Hs.gif

Sort:  

This gem got featured in our "Daily Featured Posts". Continue putting out good/high quality contents on the platform.

Kindly use both tags: #steemph and #philippines. Thank you

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible. Find out more about us on our website: www.steemmakers.com.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

saw something like this sa Good Frydays. Ikaw pud ato?

that was actually the one I saw and inspired me to do this hahaha small world

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65155.92
ETH 3548.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45