DIY Plastic Cling Wrap Alternative

in #diy7 years ago

93EA9ABA-2012-41FA-B275-3C41E3E60A0C.jpeg
Beeswax wrap

There’s been quite a few times I’ve looked in my cupboards for some cling wrap, only to be reminded I don’t have any. Why would I? After all, you use it once and throw it out. What a waste! Then I found this gem of an idea!

First, find some 100% cotton cloth(yes, it must be 100% cotton) and cut out an appropriate sized circle or whatever shape to suit your needs.
F4A0DA3E-3BB7-48C5-8387-1BAC120920DC.jpeg

Put the cloth facedown onto the back of a cookie sheet. I tore out a sheet of aluminum foil to extend the size of my sheet to fit the cloth. (Important: pick a sheet that will not warp on you.)
F0A93754-C17C-4523-B929-D376AB465F2B.jpeg

Spread out some beeswax onto your circle. You can use beeswax pellets like I did or shred beeswax from a block. Learn from my mistake: this was too much beeswax. You don’t need to have it completely covered.
9E7DEC3F-4E85-46AC-B59B-37CA0B4979BB.jpeg

Place in the oven at 350 degrees. Keep an eye on it! It took less than 2 minutes for it to all melt. Go ahead and use the back of a spoon or a cheap brush to evenly spread the beeswax.
B6AA2976-AE12-43A7-A1D0-1436B09777BB.jpeg

Let it cool completely, and peel it off. Use like you would cling wrap. Apply some pressure when folding over a bowl. The heat from your hands will melt the wax to create a lip over the edge. Tip: to wash your beeswax cloth, use cool/cold soapy water. Keep this in mind when you choose what you are covering. I wouldn’t recommend for raw meat.

You can also use this as an envelope to hold food. I wrapped some carrots to show you.
A550E088-E916-42FF-9C1D-5C718C684377.jpeg

25478B05-9B92-4B8F-A945-1A603E37CEDF.jpeg

This is a really great natural and reusable alternative to your plastic cling wrap. As you continue to use it over and over again, if a little beeswax starts to fall off, you can put more wax on the spots that need it and remelt.

Hope you enjoyed this little diy project.


Steem on! Upvote, comment, and follow :)
Sort:  

Where and how do you store it when not in use? Can you roll it up or do you have to lay it flat?

Roll up or lay flat, either works. I’d say put in a cooler spot if possible but as long as it’s not in direct sun, it should be ok.

This is AMAZING!!! You rock girl! I love this idea... how simple!

I have seen this before! And from what they told me they were happy with the way it worked!

That is interesting, I use the disposable shower caps from the beauty salon.

That’s a clever idea!

Great use of the beeswax! I have a bunch leftover from my lip balm!

Hi fw. I started following you just because I like your profile. Hope to see lots of posts from you.

Well thank you! I like your name as well! And all your scripture! I gave you a follow as well! Have a great week!

Thank you for contributing your knowledge to help others! This post has been added to the Sotall.org Directory of Self Sufficiency & Survival posts. One of our goals is to provide access to the knowledge of our fellow Steamians, that will still be seen, long after the 7 day period is passed. If you write any future articles with instructions on how to do any tasks related to a homestead or survival, to ensure they are added to the directory, please submit them. They will be added as soon as possible.

Hi fern. I like the concept of Sotall, so I am following you. I love all homemaking and homesteading activities. I hope to be a value to your group.

Hi hhw. I like your post. I read all of the replies from others and found kindred souls in all of them, so made sure I am following them, too. Is that considered theft? lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68598.13
ETH 2704.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72