Super Cheap DIY Killing Cone (for poultry)

in #diy6 years ago (edited)


As it got closer to time for dispatching and butchering our meat flock, I began looking around online for supplies and at killing cones. The best deal I could find at the time still priced out at nearly $20 USD per cone! A little further digging led me to come up with this super cheap cone made from a 5 gallon bucket!

Even though I use power tools in this video, the cone could easily be made with more simple tools.

The two cones were used to process 30+ chickens in one day and worked perfectly fine. We drove some metal T-Post fence poles into the ground, then zip tied these cones to the post. We were completely pleased with these cones and have no improvements or desires to change them in any way.


Super Cheap DIY Killing Cone




View our other videos on raising meat chickens!

Part 4 - The End

Part 3 - A Quick Update

Part 2 - The Chicken Tractor

Part 1 - The Chicks Arrive


Check out our Dtube channel for more videos!


This video comes from my YouTube channel library. In light of YouTube's recent change in policy concerning monetization and their cutting out of the small channels, I'm pulling my entire YouTube library down and will post it here. Not for money's sake, but to give YouTube my virtual finger and my boot! I can no longer be a part of a system that silences all but the ones they wish to hear! Bear with me as I catch up my Dtube library with my favorite videos. Also stay tuned for new content! Thanks


Join Our Growing Community of over 250 Members!
http://www.homesteaders-online.com

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I always thought about just using a road cone if you could find one. Great idea 💡

Funny enough, that was one thing we considered, just didn't have one around. ;)

Video will not play?

Works for me. Perhaps an issue with @dtube when you tried to view it.

It may not be easier to make it yourself but it is always cheaper. You get to use the tools you bought and your wife said you will never use. LOL

Exactly!!!!!!!!!!!

Hilarious. The trouble around here is finding a clean bucket! Feels like I'm always picking one up so I can have an extra CLEAN one and that single clean one becomes the one the kid use for mud or worse! Farmlife with kids! ;-)

Don’t have chickens yet, but will consider this concept when I do! Thanks

Timely. We may need to cull one of our layers....checking out the videos:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20