Sort:  

Cool. Sometimes i use the 'offgrid' tag but I have noticed more content is tagged 'off-grid' so I have been using it primarily.

I went for over a year with just using a 20 watt panel and one 35 Amp hour deep cycle. I finally got a 207 watt panel and a 160 Amp hour deep cycle recently. It was a huge upgrade.

I'm lucky to get the huge battery I did... Funny how that happened. Trading with hippies and got bigger and kept trading and bang battery!

Never quit! It's about here!

Nice. No worries...i will never quit. For me it is all just one continual experiment. I have a small 10 watt wind turbine also. I will gradually get more of them as I can afford them and build a small array of either five or ten of them. I do not get good wind here except in late winter and then all spring but that is also when I do not get much sun so it is a good supplement during that time of year. I also have a micro turbine system that I am working on but I still have to get my gravity fed water system dialed in. I am slow and methodical about it all.

Yeah the water is looking like a killer idea. I'm excited to get someplace to get some land for me and doggo. Then I can really grow.

You can do it!

My ultimate goal for a battery though is to have one or two forklift batteries.

Those things are massive. And I'm looking into lithium battery bank now...

The goal zero one is pretty cool.

But it's a matter of cost like always.

Agreed. I have steered away from the lithium battery banks just for the sake of simplicity but they are interesting and pretty neat. I have considered maybe trying to find a totaled-out electric vehicle at a scrap yard just to get the battery bank from it but honestly it just seems like while the technology is pretty cool it is still evolving and I will probably just wait until it gets really 'dialed in' before pursuing it. On a different note I said I had a 35 amp hour battery before but after looking over some notes I saw that it is actually a 23 amp hour one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65765.48
ETH 2628.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66