Lost the desire for chasing latest phone, swap battery of 2-year-old phone and keeping it.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #diy6 years ago (edited)

I'm a technology guy and I love exploring new tech whenever there is something new available. However, the more I appreciate how powerful new tech is making our life better, the lesser I value the currentness of the mobile phone. I used to the kid who can spend a whole day or even week on a particular aspect of the phone like customizing the theme and launcher just to match my using style, or to enhance the battery life by flashing all kind of custom ROM and kernel for the best performance.

Phone is just a tool for convenience

Nowadays, I value PC and laptop which can bring serious productivity power on the table, mobile phone to me is just a tool for convenience and most of the time, a tool for entertainment. This is why I'm still using my 2-year-old One Plus 3 even it looks really under par after the comparison with the latest phones.

No full and borderless screen, no face recognization, no 100MP camera, no all the cool tech which is the standard specification now. I can live with all the disadvantages and in fact, it stills going strong and meets all my requirement as a phone. The only drawback is that the battery does age, and it is now at its 80% of capacity which troubles a little as it runs flat pretty quickly.

That is far from a deal breaker

I can easily fix it with a battery swap. Ordered a 3rd party battery from Taobao and it arrives today. I decide not to send in for the swapping service but to DIY. It turns out it was not as tough as it was to open up the case. Let's see if I can keep using this phone for another 2 years.



The battery pack that comes with a bunch of tools, which is nice.



The 3rd party battery.



Finally opened up the case for the first time myself.


身为一个科技迷,追求最新的科技发展从来都是我的乐趣之一,尤其前期是在手机领域。那时候可以为了简单的一个调整手机主题和 Launcher,或者是提高电池效率而不断的固件和 ROM 等等,轻易就可以花点一天或是一整个星期。现在不同了,注意力和重心都放在可以提供更多工作效率的 PC 和笔记本电脑上,手机对我而言已经沦为通讯和娱乐工具,不再值得花钱追求最新最好的了。

这也就是为什么这台用了两年的一加三手机我还是不想舍弃,它一切都还很好,也完全可以胜任我对手机的基本需求。唯一的缺点就是电池无可避免的老化了,只有大约 80% 的容量。

最好的解决方案就是花个 50 人民币买个第三方电池自己手动换了,又可以再战多两年啦!



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://fr3eze.vornix.blog/lost-the-desire-for-chasing-latest-phone-swap-battery-of-2-year-old-phone-and-keeping-it/

Sort:  

How much it costs for the battery kit ?

Posted using Partiko Android

About 50RMB.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @fr3eze! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 19000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81