Built my first Pulk

in #diy6 years ago

Pretty sure this will make it 7 miles this weekend


IMG_20190115_100003995.jpg

In preparation for my excursion this weekend I have built my first Pulk. It is a pretty simple design for a sled that I can tow while skiing and snowshoeing. I used one of my kids' plastic toboggans, structural pieces from an old free standing patio cover for the arms, the waist belt from my old climbing haul bag, a length of rope, and some 1/4" all thread.

First I popped a few holes around the edge of the sled then ran the rope through the holes. This makes it so when I am towing the sled the pressure is applied to the entire rim of the sled, not just the couple of tow points on the front. The attachment is nice and easy. I have wing nuts on either end of the all thread which fits into the end of the arms and through the loop of rope. The only thing I need to do is wrap the loops of rope in tape to help keep abrasion down to a minimum.

The all thread spreader bar was a very needed addition to my design. The spreader bar instantly made the sled track straight behind me where-as before it was like a tail wagging behind me.

IMG_20190115_100009899.jpg

Wing nuts on the waist belt make the arms fully removable from the belt and sled if I need to. The simple belt also allow me to wear a day pack while towing the sled since the belt will sit below the level of the pack.

IMG_20190115_100025462.jpg

If you want to read about designing and building your own pulk this is what I found and used:

https://www.skipulk.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/pulkbook.pdf

Camera: Motorola Moto G5S+ Phone

BTS = jwf

Token = FFFARM

Check out my:

Whaleshares blog | Steemit blog | Scorum blog


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

Feel free to join our Discord server to find out more about our BTS token FFFarm.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!




Learn how to join the Byteball WCG Distribution!


FFF Runic.png


Sort:  

THANKS! I've been killed by over 1000 programmed and purely-ideologically-driven downvotes the past ten days, so every little bit helps and his greatly appreciated.

Following you now.

Congratulations @flemingfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 850 posts. Your next target is to reach 900 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi, @flemingfarm!

You just got a 0.08% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hey @flemingfarm, Your post has been determined to be Splat-Worthy!! Therefore You’ve been Splatted by the Splatz Curation Trail
E4D5E914-6CE9-4EA4-950A-18B199BC20DE.gif
source
Rewarding Your Original Work
With an Upvote
And
Resteem
If you find posts worthy of a nasty Splatin’ feel free and mention @splatz in a Your reply to their post. Call me out!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63686.15
ETH 2727.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59