Diy - I made a Fancy Tree shaped coatrack ... it's utterly unusable.

in #diy7 years ago (edited)

DIY.png


When me and my wive moved into our house a little over 4 years ago, there was this ugly-ass coatrack in the hall the previous owner had installed. It needed to go.

When we build the backyard fence shortly after moving in, I had some leftover boards which would serve excellent for the idea my wife had come across on pinterest or some such site. A coatrack in the shape of a tree. It looked fantastic in the images she showed me, and I was just wanting to develop my DIY skills and build more with my own two hands instead of hiring someone or buying something in the store.

So, I made a build drawing with all the pieces I would need in 3ds Max (it's the software I work every day with for 3d architectural visualisation, but works great for 2d drawings as well)

147AF0E9-1C9B-41AB-9124-DA82B81A907A.png

I made the full tree first then layed out all the parts for exact measurements which I would use to cut the left-over fence boards to size. I also labeled them so when I would piece the tree together on the wall I would know where to place which piece of the tree.

I decided at first, for the sake of hating to put holes in walls, that I would glue that to the wall. That was the stupidest idea ever. The boards (or actually the glue) would refuse to stay put, I think in period of 2 months, I had to scrape of old driedout glue and apply new one on at least half the number of pieces at least 2 or three times. So after that, I just screwed them to the wall and that was that.

Apart from that little annoyance, the end-result was stunning if I do say so myself. Especially considering this was one of my first Do It Yourself projects.

56EE8B7A-B7C7-41B9-B4A5-BCC76B853377.jpeg

You might be wondering why now, after all this time, I finally posted it. Well, in truth, even though the end-result was very much to my liking, this kind of coatrack is UTTER RUBBISH as in DO NO ATTEMPT AT HOME.

It looks good but the functionality really leaves a lot to be desired. For one, once you actually start using it, the tree is covered in no time, leaving you staring at coats with no hint of your beautiful treeshaped coatrack.

Not only is your beautiful design covered in no time, that fact in and of itself also means that you can only hang a small amount of coats on it. It just barely managed to house all our coats & jackets, but whenever we had guests, their coats would end up hanging over our dining chairs because there was no room on our Fancy Coatrack.

I mean look at this monstrosity ! Where's my beautifully crafted coatrack over which I slave many an hour to make ! and what are those creepy wooden things crawling out of the jackets .... ffs so THAT is why they only showed this with a single purse hanging of a hook and a small limp hanging t-shirt on those sites. Use it for actual coats and it totally disfunctions.

CD54EEBE-AD74-4D79-BA7E-825B5F91C036.jpeg

Now in al fairness, eventhough this coatrack was utterly unusable, I did have a lot of fun making it and was as proud as a monkey with 5 cocks when I finished it. And we did manage to use it for nearly 4 years before we said 'enough is enough'

You know what this means though don't you ... DIY Coatrack Remodelling post coming up soon :) This time with matte black scaffolding pipes and corner joints and hooks for coats and it'll even have a little kids coatrack. It'll be as awesome as $100 Steem ! (well at least I think so)


Full STEEM ahead my fellow Steemians - @eqko


Me and my fellow blockbrothers are a witness as @blockbrothers. If you want to support us we would appreciate your vote here. Or you could choose to set us as your proxy.
witness_vote.gif


Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

As blockbrothers, we build Steemify, a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.
Get it Here:


Sort:  

It looks like it does the job tho. Nice work my wife & I think is lovely!

I did think it was lovely as well and it functioned well enough that we had it in use for quite some time. But only being able to hang 3 coats really defeats the purpose. A clear case of form over function.

The tree design looked great, but you're right - the clothes cover it so there is really no point of it. It get's hidden.
Looking forward to the new DIY project. I really like when people do furniture or elements by themselves at home. My dad does this a lot and he has done a lot of elements or furniture for his home and mine and I really love every piece he does. They are unique and noone can buy these from the store.

Yeah it’s really rewarding being able to make things with your own two hands. And the fact that its build to fit and unique , well thats a real nice added bonus.

actually it is you which make the situation better with the use of good humor , it is encouraging to others how a person makes things without a proper source and tools, it is an epic post just keep sharing like this in future

Oh my gosh... you glued the wood to wall ahahah thank you for this post... brightened my day. I'm in need of a coat rack but will heed your advice and not follow in your footsteps on this one!

well glued might be the wrong word. I used construction adhesive. A supersticky gluelikenpaste. It is designed for this purpose. But it definitely failed to do as advertised.

Wait on and read my next post about the new coatrack. Maybe that’ll inspire you.

I saw it last time I was there, thought it was so brilliant and cute. Great job! And don't worry, in summer you'll might be able to see it everyday lol.

Actually I already started on the new one. This one is gone. buhbye, sayanora, augwiedersehen. New one is going to be much more functional and less cluttery.

Haha guess you really really hated it. Functionality is more important than the look.

But at least you have the pictures!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85