Installing a Trailer Wiring Harness - Kia Soul

in #diy7 years ago

You need lights, right?


A couple of days ago I shared my experience in installing a hitch on a Kia Soul. I had a wiring harness to install as well, however it turned out to be the wrong one. Today I received the correct one, so here is how I went about hooking up a wiring harness so the trailer's lights would work! It was a pretty easy install since the harness is plug and play, and it did not require any splicing of wires.
DSC_0317.JPG


To begin the tail lights needed to be removed. I did this by removing the 4 phillips head screws.

After I removed them and disconnected the connector (top pic) I went through the wiring harness and connected the red,brown,yellow and white wire connector to the driver side tail light connector.
DSC_0319.JPG

DSC_0320.JPG

A few reviews have claimed that the wire isn't long enough to reach to the other side (passenger) tail light. However, if it is routed correctly it is plenty long. To do this, the push pin needs to be removed on the rear fascia so the wires can be fished through the bumper.
DSC_0321.JPG

After that, I fished the green and white wired connector down through the bumper and across to the passenger side.
DSC_0323.JPG

DSC_0349.JPG

Using a hanger to guide it, I pulled the wire up through the other side of the bumper to connect it to the passenger tail light.
DSC_0325.JPG

Moving back to the driver side, this kit included a small electrical box to prevent any electrical back feed. This came with sticky tape to mount it. I opted to mount it behind the tail light. I cleaned it to remove any dirt or grease, then stuck it on.
There is also a ground wire that needs to be screwed down. The kit came with a self tapping screw.
DSC_0333.JPG

After that was mounted, one more wire needed to be ran behind the bumper. I fed it down the same way I did the other. This is what the trailer lights will connect to.
DSC_0329.JPG

Once I fished it to the bottom I used a couple of supplied zip ties to secure it in place. After that I connected and reinstalled the tail lights and that was all I had to do! Very simple and quick.
DSC_0340.JPG


I LOVE getting feedback! Do you have suggestions or comments on how to improve my posts? If so, post them below, I want to hear from you!

Sort:  

You got a 8.38% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @drobinson!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Great My trailer lights also need attention, now I will give it a go.

Although I don’t plan or need to install a hitch any time soon, I enjoyed reading your logical & detailed post with the instructional photos.

To say that you are quite talented is an understatement! This is great information. Thanks for posting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76