Being a Lumberjack to Save the Septic System!

in #diy6 years ago

At our house we are on septic and recently we had the county inspector come out... We were talking about the system and then we started talking about the tree right next to the system, a Silver Maple. Apparently Silver Maples are one of the worst trees to have planted next to to a septic system due to it's extremely invasive roots... if I meet the previous owner I'm going to kick him in the shin :)

So needless to say this, unfortunately this tree has to come down... This was a beautiful tree and provided some good shade for our chicken coop, but after hearing about what these roots could be doing to the septic drain field, I had no choice...

I'm pretty stubborn and I don't like when folks come onto my property to do a job that I could do myself, so yesterday I became a lumberjack for a day!

This was a pretty big tree, probably about 50-60 feet tall and had 3 main trunks going up from the base. Yesterday I got the 2nd of the 3 down, which was actually a pretty good one with a favorable lean.

2018-01-28 16.30.13 - Copy.jpg

The last one that is left is the largest, but with the help of some straps and my heavy duty come along, I think I should be able to handle it.

Here is the remaining one against yesterday's beautiful blue sky (don't worry, I'll be moving the ladder out of the way lol) -

2018-01-28 16.30.33 - Copy.jpg

Sort:  

I started following you chris
I appreciate it if you start following me too

Sure thing :)

Oh sad to see such a beautiful tree having to come down!
But think of all the firewood!

We had to replace a septic system once- new leach field, runs... larger tank.. hauled in more sand, gravel and truck loads of dirt because we had to build up the field- ALL of it! Definitely HURT the pocketbook.

Sorry to hear that! Thoughts of replacing a septic system definitely keep my up at night lol

But yes you're right, we are going to have a ton of firewood, definitely not a bad problem to have :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55