BABY Nursery Prep! DIY!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #diy7 years ago (edited)

IMG_3005.JPG
While researching little decorative things to put in our baby nursery, I came across the realization that this stuff is expensive!

I am talking about the unnecessary, don't need but "have" to have kind of little decor items that add a cute personal touch to a room. Especially a nursery.

At first, I perused Etsy, but of course on top of every item being mad pricy, they charge $6, $9, $12 for shipping! Well, I am an Amazon girl, living in an Amazon world so I don't play that.

You might ask why I couldn't find these things on Amazon, I find a lot of homemade, personal and crafty items haven't made their way there yet. Not at the cuteness level that Etsy has anyway.

So, what did I do? I decide to get crafty and DIY some of this stuff. Makes it more special anyway. Here are some before and after pics!!

First- my supplies ($17 from Michael's, because I had to have that blue from Martha Stewart which cost twice as much as the other paint :::eye roll:::
IMG_3284.JPG

Before

(Paper bear from Michael's $2.99) I saw someone selling this exact bear, unpainted for $5 on Etsy + $7.90 for shipping!!!
IMG_3269.JPG

After!

IMG_3283.JPG

Before

(Wood blocks from Michael's $4.17 for the 3) Similar baby blocks painted on Etsy go for $5-$10 a piece!
IMG_3270.JPG

After!

IMG_3278.JPG

IMG_3280.JPG

Wood letter

(already painted from Michael's $2.99) I am posting this one because I was going to paint it, but decided to leave it white and just so you know, block letters this big (it's about 6 inches tall) go for anyway from $6-$36 on Etsy. Someone posted a white "distressed" letter for that much. Crazzzzy!
IMG_3276.JPG

50-Year-Old Handed Down Armoir (Free!)

Sorry, I am a dumb for not taking a before picture, just imagine it white and very knicked up. My husband sanded it, painted it and we installed new white hardware. Similar children's furniture go for $200+ Online
IMG_2645.JPG

I will post a photo of the nursery all done this weekend with my tips for organizing all the baby stuff!

Thanks for reading and as always...

Sort:  

This little guy is going to have a great room!

very very good ! It feels nice when you create things on your own and especially when you do it for your children . It is also nice to refurbish old things and giving them life again. Thanks for sharing. upvotrd_resteemed

Thank you so much!! It was fun and cool knowing it will be in the nursery for our first born :)

Wish to all 3 of you the best !

Great post and a phenomenal response. This one is a home run for you. Nice work and congratulations.

Thank you @walkingkeys!! Appreciate it :)

Wow!!! 😍 I just admire mommies who are so hands on even to the smallest detail For the betterment of their child...good luck @ breshepard

Thank you so much!!! I appreciate that :)

Nice, you created a very cosy atmosphere! Congrats for the result!

Nice work. Followed and upvoted. Please do the same

Thank you!!!

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64814.42
ETH 3450.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52