How To Make Homemade Jalapeño Seasoning

in #diy7 years ago

After visiting the @sufficientliving homestead about a week ago, I managed to bring home two plastic grocery bags full of habaneros and jalapeños.  My wife doesn't like spicy food so I have to season mine after it's cooked.  That is where learning how to make homemade jalapeño seasoning has come in really handy for me.  Now I can make my food as hot, spicy and delicious as I want it.  Some people just don't know what they are missing out on....

The first step in the process of making homemade jalapeño seasoning is to clean and cut the jalapeños into small pieces and place them on a baking sheet (I line my baking sheets with parchment paper).

While cutting the pieces I preheat the oven to 150 degrees.  I would use a lower temperature in the range of 120 - 140 degrees, but our oven will not go below 150.  The jalapeños can also be dried using a dehydrator.  I can fit four pans into the oven at a time so I take full advantage of the available space.

Because it is extremely important to make sure that the jalapeños are completely dehydrated, I will leave them in the oven for anywhere from eight to twelve hours depending on the batch. Once they are completely dried out, I take them out of the oven and allow them to cool.  

After cooling to the touch, I place them in the blender as shown in the photo below.

Next I run the blender through varying cycles until all of the peppers are chopped into a fine powder.

Once this step is completed, I place the powder into a spice container and store it until I'm ready to heat up some food.  I use this powder on almost everything I eat.  You can separate the peppers or blend them all together and have a powder made from a mix of all types of jalapeños.  The photo below is a container of powder that was made from nothing but habaneros.

A couple of precautions I will give are as follows:

1 - Wear gloves when you are handling and cutting up your hot peppers.  You do not want to end up with hot pepper hands....this is painful and can last twelve hours or more.  While you are picking out your gloves, don't skimp on them pick up some good quality gloves that will protect your skin from the capsaicin in the jalapeños.

2 - Wear a dust mask while using the blender to turn your dried out spicy peppers into powder.  This will protect you from breathing in any fine particles that make their way into the air.

If you liked this post please remember to comment, upvote, resteem and follow @backrdadventures!

"Back Roads Adventures"
Sort:  

Congratulations @backrdadventures! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

this looks incredible! I bet it packs a punch @backrdadventures!

It is great for cooking with if you like spicy foods....
Thanks for checking out my post!

Spicy foods and all sorts of peppers I love. Cant get enough. And no problem I enjoyed the post. Great recipe you have there. Take care.

Awesome idea! Do you also incorporate onions and garlic into a seasoning blend or is the goal more pepper oriented? Could you also use a spice grinder or coffee grinder? Sorry, you got my curiosity and creativity going :)

Hello,
I concentrate solely on peppers, but I imagine you could combine any other items into the mix that you wanted as long as they are all completely dehydrated. As for the coffee grinder and spice grinder.... I'm not sure. I use the blender as that's the only tool I have for the job. I suspect if you use a coffee grinder you would want to get it cleaned up really good afterwards or you may be in for a spicy surprise some morning!
Thanks for checking out my post!

New product, Jalepeno coffee! Need and extra kick in the morning? hahaha

Lol.... it might be a hit!

Great recipe. We made a similar paste with Thai chili peppers since my hubby likes it very hot and though I love spiciness too, his levels is just insane. Great trick and share.

I understand.... my spice level has surprised a few people....lol
Thanks for checking out my post!

This is great info! I did the same thing last year with my Hungarian Hot Peppers. You can only eat so many so I dried and powdered it and use in place of cayenne to spice up chili, tacos, etc.

It works great for those families who are divided between mild and spicy...
Thanks for checking out my post!

What a great idea! I love spicy food but obviously I don't load my kids up with chili peppers. This is the perfect workaround! Resteemed!

I love spicy food and this method allows me to spice up my food with an all natural ingredient. Glad you found this post to be of value....Thanks for checking it out!

I LOVE spicy food! This looks great to me! I can't get my food spicy enough ;) Gotta get some jalapenos growing here! Thanks for sharing this with us! <3

Thanks for checking out my post.... good luck with your jalapeño growing.... hope they grow in abundance for you!

After drying them and making a powder out of them, the heat level must have gone up considerably. Read somewhere it can go up to 3 times. Do u remove the seeds or not?

Hello,
I have found that the heat can increase significantly when the seasoning is added while cooking instead of waiting until after the food has been cooked. Don't get me wrong.... adding the powder to food that has already been prepared will heat it up!
I leave the seeds in and grind them up into powder along with the peppers.
Thanks for checking out my post!

Congratulations @backrdadventures! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @backrdadventures! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50