You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Galvanic etching - Quick HowTo

in #diy7 years ago

Good work floshmo !. Didn't know that the toner could be used as a protective varnish for etching. Do you know if it works with nitric acid or iron perchloride?

Sort:  

Good question @alain-bellino. I haven’t tried it but there are tutorials that use this very toner method in combination with sodium persulfate or ferric chloride.. is this of any help?

I would love to know about your experience or recent projects with etching :)

Thanks! Can't read the links but i think that ferric chloride is the same than iron perchloride.It must be tried.
I've not a great experience in etching but my daughter use it on brass jewels. On the other hand i use electrolysis to gilded and silvering antiques. I'm a bronze and silver restorer .
I've used bitumen of Judea diluted in turpentine to recreate some Art Deco etching on lightings copies. My daughter use also this technic for etching.

What an interesting job you have! Sorry for the links, I corrected them. Here is one site that describes etching with ferric chloride and sodium persulfate (one method, with different acids): http://thomaspfeifer.net/platinen_aetzen.htm (it’s in german, copy and paste the address in google translate maybe 🤓)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55049.50
ETH 2307.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30