Building a carport - by @awgbibb

in #diy7 years ago (edited)

006.jpg

Some of you may have seen my post where I added on to my Son's Carport?

https://steemit.com/shelter/@awgbibb/chronicles-of-alan-heritage-day-car-port-construction

My First acquaintance with doing this sort of thing,was where I went to an Architect , just as we moved into our House in Breaunanda,he did the design on which I got Municipal Approval , and then proceeded to build according to his instruction's/design.

This became a never-ending job of modifications and repairs!

But , Wait , I have had several experiences with Architects that will make an excellent Post! ( for later)

The Previous one at Sage Street!

008.jpg

We have so many vehicles here , we needed an extra Carport We were going to do it in Front of the Garage.( Remember I stay in My Son Wayne's House)

The local Blockwatch has so many reports of Dogs being poisoned in order for these useless wasters of the term Human to break into the Cars in Front.

I decided rather in the Back next to my Studio , I have no desire for Rollo or Daisy to be poisoned!.

019.jpg

Mark out the area dig Four holes , half a metre deep each , 2 bags of pre-Mix concrete per hole , use level and tape to make sure all is as it should be!

Pour a large Bucket of Water every day for 4 days in each hole ,to make sure Concrete set slower for more strength.

Take side Beams Clamp to either side pole make sure with spirit level that front to back they are level, attach pole with a self tapping screw to Secure to Upright beams.

In this case side beams were 8m apart in length, and 5m apart in width. I attached the width beams to the sides also with self tapping/drilling screws .as well as the centre struts.

This meant that all lifting and putting in place can be done by just 2 people.! Welding is then done with the Structure already up , making everything much easier and less labour intensive!

The whole structure is then painted with a combination, undercoat, finishing coat, and rust proofer.

The 5.5m IBR sheets can now be put on and I use Pop rivets and the entire roof was on in less than a day by Previous, My Loyal Helper and Assistant on his Own?

034.jpg

If you would like more specifics , and close up Photo's , let me know as I am Busy putting up a Verandah Roof, using the same System!

Completed!

Enjoy this my Friends ( and tell Your Husband How easy this is to Do?)

Sort:  

I am curious as to what other cars are under the covers in the second picture:D

A 1960 Jaguar Mk 2 fitted with a Modified 4.2 Motor , A 2005 Alfa Romeo GT waiting for it's new 3.2 V6 Motor to be overhauled, A Lotus 7 With a twin cam 1600 5 valve per cylinder , highly modified motor, A KTM 525 4-stroke offroad single , A Husaberg 300 2 stroke off-road , A Suzuki 850 4 cylinder Cafe Racer, A Yamaha XS 400 twin Cafe Racer, A Yamaha 500 single Cafe Racer. There is another 1960's Alfa Romeo GT coming ( only one in the World to that Spec) A Suzuki TL 1000 V-Twin, A Cagiva Raptor 1000 V-Twin which are currently being re-built . I have not included our Daily use Vehicles.

Wow, that's quite the collection!

Forgot to Mention, My Son ,Wayne also has a Nissan Coupe 350Z parked Elsewhere till we are sorted!

Good job dear keep it up thanks for sharing i follow you hope you will do good thanks

good work, I will love it

Great Job! Never seen somebody doing this..

Please upvote, comment resteem and follow @taufik93
Thanks to back in touch for upvote

Congratulations @africaunited, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 5404 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $8003.08. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Need One for My classic Truck... Nice

Hi mate nice sharing this wonderful work of architect of yours. Most time we learn as a result of disappointment or imperfections and at the end your realize you could actually do those things your contract someone to do for you.
Love those cars hope you will send me one of those. Lol!!!

About the Cars, not likely, unfortunately

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65685.57
ETH 2613.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71