Swimming with whale sharks, an experience never to forget!!!

in #diving7 years ago (edited)

Back in 2015 I was traveling for 1 month on my own at the Philippines. One of the most vivid memory's of that vacation is my encounter with the whale sharks. The biggest living thing I have ever seen.

I was at Legazpi to climbe the famous Mayon volcano and my hostel offered a whale shark trip at the close by town Donsol. I never heard before of whale sharks so I decided to go have a look for myself but it was a bet, the season is from November to June and I it was already June.

I got to take 3 different Jeepney's to get in Donsol and found a resort offering a couple of cheap backpacker rooms next to the harbour where I bought a ticket to go whale shark searching (or butanding) the next day.
I got up early in the morning and after an explanation and video about the sharks and the ways locals try to protect them we got in a boat with 6 other tourist.

The small fisher boats sail around with a lookout at the front in the hope to see the shadow of a whale shark while they are feeding. When they spot one, they try to get in front of it and you get the order to jump and follow the snorkel guide.

GOPR0903.JPG

IMG_0012.JPG

IMG_0013.JPG

Day 1 of butanding was a disappointment. We only encountered 1 whale shark and by the time we were in the water we only saw the white dots deep under us.

I decided to stay 1 more day and give it another try. I set my alarm early in the morning, watched the video again and of we went. After about 2 hours of nothing, suddenly the boat started shaking when the engine went full gas. My hart started beating and I nervously put my snorkeling gear on. We jumped, followed the guide but nothing. And then, all of a sudden, this huge whale shark with its mouth wide open was coming straight at me. I can't describe the excitement and adrenaline shot I felt.
The shark swam right under me and it seemed endless head to tail. I tried to follow but I could only keep up for a minute because it swims quite fast.

The next half hour we had 3 more encounters. During one of the encounters I managed to free dive and snorkel for a couple minutes next to it and the shark turned 90 ° so I could see its belly and I could see the mount open while feeding. It was so close I could touch it if I wanted.

IMG_5833.PNG

G0061006.JPG

IMG_5834.PNG

I didn't have an underwater cam back then so the pics above are taken by a friendly Scottish girl who was on the boat with me.

Sort:  

It truly is an amazing experience isn't it? I have been lucky enough to do the same in Mexico last year @pieter87. I count it among one of my best underwater experiences. Thanks for sharing buddy :)

Amazing photos...well done... upvoted... only once been too near sharks... in 1999 when shipwrecked in far east....not nice creatures...

there are lot of creatures under sea in the water.
lets get connected.
@qami

Wooow uts definately an unforgettable experience, i remember seeing an old chimpazee last week for the first time, im still imagining it till now

A month in the Philippines + a two-day boat trip in search of a whale shark.

Must be an unforgettable experience !! And great fun!

We must visit the Philippines one day....

Yes, I can only advice to go there. >7000 islands, a lot of sun, friendly people and cheap prices.

My trip started with a negative note because the friend I was traveling with broke his foot the 2nd day but continued on my own and had the time of my life.
Just stay away from the cities because the are very busy and hot and you see a lot of extreme poverty.

Wow, that’s beautiful!! Persistence is definitely key. Congratulations!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68161.91
ETH 2649.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68