Shark alert!!! 2 oceanic whitetip sharks spotted @ Elphinstone reef

in #diving6 years ago (edited)


Last December I was staying for a week at Marsa Alam - Egypt. I did a couple of dives at the house reef but my focus was set on the Thursday boat trip to Elphinstone reef. I did 3 dives there at 2015 during a liveaboard on the red sea and had one of my most memorable encounters underwater: an oceanic whitetip decided to circle around us at -45 m. ( see

)

Since then I've seen plenty of sharks but never had the same adrenaline rush of meeting the oceanic whitetip, a shark species know to be unpredictable.

I was getting close to 100 dives and I planned my dives so I did dive 99 and 100 at Elphinstone. For my first dive I was swimming in the blue towards the reef and suddenly 2 oceanic decided to swim by to have a look. I felt the same adrenaline rush and enjoyed every second of this brief encounter. I almost forgot to enjoy the beautiful reef during the rest of the dive.

At my 100'th dive I didn't spot the sharks anymore but it was still one to log in capital letters with a relaxed and beautiful wall dive next to the reef.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by pieter87 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Nice shot, I went looking for sharks in red sea, wasn't lucky enough to see any though.

Wow nice present for dive 100.
Hammerheads at dive 200?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15