Drop in the Ocean ~ Continuation

in #dito6 years ago

Continuation

So, I sat down to write something poetic and beautiful about continuation.

It means picking up and moving forward with something...tangible or an idea...or...blah, blah, blah.

That's when I felt a rant start to bubble to the surface.

I don't like this word at all!

When I think of continuation, I think about continuing with something that should be left behind.

To me it feels like going backwards to be able to move forward.

And all I can think is...

Stop picking crap off the ground! You put it down for a reason...just walk away!


Then I pictured this moment when a conversation gets interrupted
The two people talking have to find a new place, buy once they find a new place they have a choice of going back and picking up where they left off or moving forward to a new topic.

Unless it was life changing...move forward.

I feel like so much of what people do in the present is based on what they have always done the past. We should learn from the past with a willing heart to always embrace new.


It also reminds me of all the tevelsion series that come back. It's a continuation of the original story. The problem is that you have to look back at the history to enjoy the present.

Just create a new story. Move forward.

There is not enough room in the present to continue the things from the past.

Learn. Grow. Repeat.


Image 1

Image 2

Sort:  

I could use an analogy. Birth.

We're born as new, with our own unique DNA. It's a new thing, the genes are moving on. Humans are not eternal and 'continue' forever. So it's the kind of thing were we nurture the young more than trying to 'stretch' the human lifetime.

Yet there is this paradox, that even old things are ceased and new ones begun, there is a sort of indirect continuity, like the DNA is a continuation of the parental genetics.

For instance, some shows continue from old stories because they already have a legacy and content to build open, much easier than starting from scratch. And of course, if done well, there is a history that is respected, but the new show should not required direct knowledge of the old. If we end up remaking the same thing with the same qualities exactly, we are simply stuck in the past. Moving forward is accepting history, learning from it, as you have said, and take that to a new direction.

Yes, there is so much need for certain types continuation, like gentics. It's definitely a great point.

I feel like I get caught up on the continuation for the sake of not being able to let go. But, everything needs balance!

That was a very good rant!

Haha thank you!

thank you so much for doing the We-Write :)

You're welcome! Thank you for letting me apart of it!

I think this is very relevant within relationships of any kind. The more they "continue" with old shit the more it seems they think it is ok. Family members or partners that think their opinion matters. It just goes on and on.

I think if there was less old shit for them to pick up they would realise they have no future.

Haha right? Just move forward!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30