St Patrick's Cathedral

in #distinctivedoors7 years ago (edited)

A distinctive door and even more distinctive inside

IMG_1292.JPG

This is one of the doors on St Patrick's Cathedral.

Now these doors and well worth walking through to see

IMG_1204.JPG

Isn’t that ceiling amazing

The Cathedral of St. Patrick (commonly called St. Patrick's Cathedral) is a decorated Neo-Gothic-style Roman Catholic cathedral church and a prominent landmark of New York City.
It is the seat of the archbishop of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New York, and a parish church, located on the east side of Fifth Avenue between 50th and 51st Streets in Midtown Manhattan, directly across the street from Rockefeller Center and specifically facing the Atlas statue.
Work began on construction on the cathedral in 1858 and it was completed in 1878 and dedicated in 1879

And to finish off a couple of shots of the Cathedral from the outside

IMG_1290.JPG

Such a grand building

IMG_1291.JPG

It is an amazing Cathedral both inside and out but challenging to get good photos from the outside with the other buildings and traffic etc, but I thought these two were kind of OK

Cheers

111 steemit banner.jpg

These photos taken by me using a Sony A6500 mirrorless camera

!steemitworldmap 40.758876 lat -793.976902 long St Patricks Cathedral NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Breathtaking! Thanks for sharing, I love seeing buildings like these. Here in Durban we also have a quite a few beautiful buildings, but we don't go to the City often as it really went backwards in terms of crime

Thanks 😎
It is such an amazing place
Sorry to hear Durbans crime rate is bad I have to honest if I didn't work in the city I wouldn't go there it's on early morning when it's quiet but I hate crowds

Have a great day

Same here, especially ny husband hates the Durban City traffic with all the taxis just following their own rules of the road. Thanks Jay have a great too

That's why I have a fairly long commute ot live in a small city near the water :)

Cheers

beautiful photography of doors....

that is really wonderful photography.

Thanks kindly

sneaky-ninja-sword-small.jpg
Sneaky Ninja attack!
You have been defended!

3.98...

To help keep my Jōki (蒸気) power strong, I rely on the support of my fellow #thealliance brethren.

When able, please upvote my attacks so that I may stay mighty and continue to defend and protect our beloved team!

woosh

Awesome shots and - Wow , the ceiling is spectacular! Great captured!

I love St Patrick's Cathedral, it's a wonderful building of NY. And the photos are perfect, congrats!

Thanks so kind of you to say

Have a great day

These old churches are all so amazing. Such great and beautiful architecture!

Aren't they just this one always amazes me no mater how many times i see it, and to think it is so young compared to many in Europe

An amazing piece of architecture and history. Beautiful photos. The contrast between new city and old is stunning. Hope they never decide to pull down the cathedral and put something more modern...

I hope not as well I dont think they ever will its such a landmark of the city

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49