Too Much and Not Enough

in #dissociation6 years ago (edited)

So I decided to make a creative writing journal prompt.  I thought it might help me to talk about other parts of myself if I could place them as characters of a story.

The prompt is: You have climbed to the top of Mount Everest.  Who are your main characters?  Describe what they are afraid of and why?  Describe their sensory experience?  Can the sensory experience be compared with other experiences the character has had?  Do they feel a sense of accomplishment?  What will they do next?  Example: climb down the mountain, eat lunch, meditate, contemplate the meaning of life.

I would call my answer a short, short story.  It is probably one of the shortest stories that have ever been made, but I think I did learn something about myself by doing this so I thought I might share it in case someone else could as well.

Too Much and Not Enough

"How much longer till we're there?" said the small girl.  The cold air was audible and blinding.  It made her feel like the world was condensing around her and she was being trapped inside of a freezer rather than walking up the mountain.  If only a bird would sing and break the spell.

"We will be there soon," the older girl replied as she continued on a few steps in front of her.  She couldn't see how hard it was for the small girl to keep up with her.  She was focused on each step as though it were a precious gift taking her someplace new far away from where she started.  Her steps were monotonous towards this goal, like a clock.

As they reached the top of the mountain, the sun was shining, but you could feel none of its warmth.  The snow on the ground was a reflection of the clear sky above it.  Pure.  Untouched.  No trees.  No footprints.  No life.

The small girl looked around waiting for something to change.  Even though the trial was over, she felt no relief.  It was over, but it was all still too much for her to bear.

The older girl looked around hoping the pain was behind her.  She was far away from where she started, but it wasn't enough to heal her soul. 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57743.27
ETH 3083.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42