You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Valuable content shared with Steemit is being tagged as STOLEN! Understand the importance of giving credit where credit is due.

in #dispute8 years ago

I like to share interesting news when I find it. Is it ok to just put the link to the original content at the bottom?

Sort:  

Honestly, I feel dirty profiting from others sweat and investment. If it were me, every penny I made from reposting something I liked, I would contact the real content owner and see how I could transfer the profits to them. Contact them before linking it and seeing if they don't mind. I don't know, anything other than just putting a link to YouTube and saying "hey ain't this swell! Don't forget to upvote me! :p"

In my gut this feels wrong to do. It's like reselling freeware that the creator says is ok for you to use and even ok for you to share with others, just don't make money on it. And what are we doing here? We're making money on someone elses hard work. Doesn't that set off your spidey senses as being unethical?

I have yet to see any reposter make note of asking the original content creator if it was ok ahead of time to post here. I'm sure there must be examples, just I have yet to see it.

I understand how copying personal content from youtube, blogs or forums is really stealing content especially if you don't mention it's not yours. But I'm talking more about posting about an article on some news website. Including the link will probably send traffic there and that's what the original website wants so isn't that ok?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59838.11
ETH 2384.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51