You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Resolving conflicts the Steemian way - a proposal for arbitration on Steemit

Decisions are only ever made in one head.
Put your hand up as an arbitrator.

Hey everyone. I'm establishing a reputation as a fair and neutral referee for disputes here.
Negotiate a stake you'll each send me in steem, and each pay half my fee in SBD.
Present your cases with supporting evidence.
I'll review and return the staked steem proportional to my ruling, along with my reasoning

Give it a few months, and you'll be known as the guy to go to. People who decline an invitation to 'Yeah? Well let's let plushzilla decide. 100 steem each' will be considered uncertain of the strength of their position.
Other arbitrators will put their hands up, but they'll be fighting your first mover advantage.

Sort:  

@mattclarke - I think some of the issues with disputes arise from the fact that the person that has a higher power is inclined to make decisions that are aligned with their views rather than that of the general community. I haven't spent enough time on steemit to really have the outreach and reputation to be a wise arbitrator/mediator (but I should be working for the dole provided by #centrelink), but if I have to put my hand up so that more qualified people can step up then I am happy to volunteer myself.

Furthermore, to help grow the community and benefit other people as well, I think it would be great if #teamaustralia is a first in creating something like this (so we are know for something else other than the term 'kangaroo court'), so perhaps something to take up with @ausbitbank? We do have the reputation of giving people a fair go to uphold :D

I actually considered this myself, several months ago.
(One of many ideas I sat on the backburner.)
If you can demonstrate a history of being trusted in meatspace; (JP is pretty good. That's not easy to get.), the fact you haven't been around long enough to develop preferences could work in your favour.
We're all planning for a bright future here.
Everyone will assume you consider your reputation more lucrative in the long term; than some sneaky kickback right now.
Mull it over.

I will mull over it some more, but I thought it makes sense to try and approach some of the more'senior' and experienced users to see what the best way to go about this might be. I certainly appreciate your feedback and suggestion and will consider what the next steps should be :) But if you have more ideas on the backburner, perhaps this has given you a nudge to make a couple of posts?

One will be good to go in a couple of weeks. Another one will have to wait for communities to arrive.
Next year's going to be incredible :)

The real problem is that anyone sufficiently humble to do a good job of it, is too humble to consider himself qualified.
I note that your reservations stem from a belief that others won't find you credible. At no point have you suggested you'd be bad at it :)
Throw your hat in the ring. Even if you suck we'll respect you for trying, that's what beta is for :)

Point taken. Be on the lookout for it in my next post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56953.07
ETH 2513.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28