vintage disney pop up gallery

in #disney6 years ago (edited)

6fba68f8-d27c-45d3-86d7-023744a6caa0.jpeg


It's not a true Disney experience if you didn't stand in a queue to get in...

IMG_5008.JPG

For only another week, the Van Eaton Gallery will be displaying their collection of vintage Disney memorabilia before their auction. It's FREE for fans to visit the former sports gear outlet store turned mini happy place on earth.

https://www.travelandleisure.com/travel-news/disneyland-california-pop-up

Lucky me. This exhibit literally came to my neighborhood. Ten minutes from home is a temporary free vintage Disney gallery.

Driving into the mall parking, R and I were intimidated by the long line. Should we come back another day? How did everyone find out so fast? Arrrrgggg I teach in THREE hours.

@planetroq and I decided to park and join the friendly crowd. The line moved fast as batches of people gained entry.

IMG_5381.JPG

This dog gets through all the doors!

There was a lot to see. Disney has a lot of history spanning through art posters, canvases, (those stretchy paintings from the Haunted Mansion that elongated as you rode their elevator), rides (People Mover, Matterhorn bobsled, and Mr Toad car) and special characters like José the parrot from the Enchanted Tiki Room are about to be auctioned off.

I felt a bit sad knowing that these items will be tucked into someone's private collection.

IMG_5330.JPG

IMG_5329.JPG

I hope the sea monster gets well taken care of. He's so goofy looking and is part of my childhood memories.

IMG_5335.JPG

Even a Matterhorn bobsled rider cart is up for auction.

IMG_5331.JPG

And José from the Enchanted Tiki Room is looking for a new home.

IMG_5337.JPG

I will post more photos on my Flickr. But will end with a favorite poster. A piece of history.

IMG_5338.JPG

Visit the gallery while you have a chance. Enjoy the nostalgia.

Now it's time to say goodbye
To all our company
M-I-C. See you real soon!
K-E-Y. Why? Because we like you!
M-O-U-S-E

JNET


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65