Join The Discussion - Create Engagement

in #discussion7 years ago


I was excited last night when I noticed Tim Cliff's post regarding launching the #discussion tag.  I support this effort, see Tim's post below.  I will be following the tag and voting on those who engage in the discussion.  


 @timcliff  post regarding using the discussion tag:

https://steemit.com/discussion/@timcliff/hey-steemains-let-s-start-a-discussion


To fully support moving the conversation to the comment section we need to support comments with votes.  In the beginning, for some this could create a missed opportunity on curation rewards.  I think it is worth it.


Simple reasons voting for comments is beneficial:

  1. If we relocate more of the reward pool to comments people are more likely to engage.  
  2. Engagement/Relationships = equals product loyalty and commitment 
  3. It is a good start toward building communities.
  4. Not everyone is a content creator, but they can add to the community via discussion
  5. Save voting for posts for the best content, improving quality and possibly increasing traffic and decreasing frustration with spam
  6. A meaningful comment shows POR.  - I just made this term up.  Proof of Reading 


The card above was made by @fishmon

*I am not advocating for voting on spammy comments.


Sort:  

In my opinion, there should be minimum 1:5 ratio of post and comment. Let's say you have posted 1 blog post in a day, so you should try to write comment more than 5 in a day.

@Whatsup -

Seeing as how my group just got pummeled by a whale on multiple of our upvote bot comments, I am all for more engagement. on comments, HOWEVER, playing devil's advocate here:

It's all about the DEPTH of a relationship, instead of the width of your relationships.




YES, I network and I know a lot of people. And I do happen to be close with many of them, because I've put the time in and built rapport.


HOWEVER, building a STRONGER connection with people that you really resonate with, that you could hang out with in person and hang out like best friends - well to me, that's of more importance.


So while my comment ratio may seem "Low", if you look at the depth of my comments and the relationships I build with the individuals I am engaging with, I feel it's worth 100x more than just "dropping 5 comments for every 1 that you get".


Because we all know, that no one has the time to sit there and actually come up with a genuine ass comment that they truly mean, about someone they probably know nothing about, 5x for each and every comment they receive.


You can disagree, and I'm all for friendly debate/playing devil's advocate - but to me, depth will ALWAYS crush width when it comes to relationships and engagement. End of story.

Oh, and love you, bro, @codingdefined <3

Interesting. I think it is a good goal.

Thanks @whatsup, I usually do it, I have written around 147 posts but my comment is more than 1200, because I know connection is so much important here.

I think the curation of comments should be rewarded more compared to posts, it would definitly help for more encouragement to interact on posts.

I been enjoying seeing these #discussion even more so with the community promoting curtailing your own comment sections. While it might not be maximizing your own personal curtail rewards directly it is incentivizing people to spend the time to contribute to your blog; instead of, making a blog of their own and just writing something similar.

Nothing sadder then seeing a blog with 12 comments. 10 of them informing the post was upvoted by such and such or “nice.” With the 2 other comments being all the way at the bottom because they put time and effort into writing a response and did not reply before the spam.

As someone who loves commenting more than blogging myself. I enjoy places that are set up for community engagement. Where people are not only replying back they even holding conversion. It also makes it feel more like a social platform which is a two way street.

I was on Reddit the other day, and I was so jealous of their engagement on posts. I think at some point the discussion might be where the money is at! I hope so anyway.

I also enjoy places where the engagement is high. It can often add a new perspective.

I agree with you, the comments are not only important, but simply necessary, for a full discussion and voting for comments, this is necessary for development. Thank you @whatsup

engagement plays a vital role in steemit and that is going to be a great thing :) thanks for the update regarding that.

Simple reasons voting for comments is beneficial:

1.If we relocate more of the reward pool to comments people are more likely to engage.

Agree

2.Engagement/Relationships = equals product loyalty and commitment

Agree

3.It is a good start toward building communities.

For sure

4.Not everyone is a content creator, but they can add to the community via discussion

(raises hand-sounds like me) ;D

5.Save voting for posts for the best content, improving quality and possibly increasing traffic and decreasing frustration with spam

Saving is hard until you learn it...

6.A meaningful comment shows POR. - I just made this term up. Proof of Reading

PROOF OF READING (I CAN DIG POR)

Community engagement is everything on Steemit! I believe that with all my heart. :) Thanks for including the link to Tim's post.

Comments are the feedback from the community for your post. And it is more important to make better post and gradually it will help us to see more better content.
So I feel by voting we are encouraging the community to get more feedback for our post.
Cheers!

@whatsup - Ma'm, I think & I feel you are a very practical woman. You shared a post about vlog & you had clear idea about the pain of vlogs ;) Now, Ma'm you are discussing about commenting. Yes, again you have proven you got the clear idea about it too :) I'm really love to read your posts ma'm. Those are very useful discussions Ma'm. Love your style ma'm.

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

@whatsup,
Yeah, this is my personal experience! Commenting is not an easy task! Coz we need to read everything before a comment. Sometimes we have to read thousands of "gibberish" and then we could find what that article actually meant to be :D
Sometimes some people think upvoting a comment is a disaster :D If there is a reward, I will definitely read the post! Yeah why I want to say lies as "I like to read, no matter you provide me a reward or not" :D I won't say that! And definitely my upvote will give to that post also!
I won't write long posts, I like to read what others said... and I like discussions too! But if there is a reward more community involvement will be there! And a lot of spammers will be there too :D
Great article as always! Thanks for sharing with us!

Cheers~

If I see a bunch of “gibberish” above the rest after reading a blog I tend to just skip past the comment section and move onto another place. People sometimes forget to curtail their own comment section to make sure value added to the conversion is at last above the spam.

I’ve seen a few people just give out 1 cent upvotes to make sure of that. Which is fine by me. As long as some effort is going into making their comment sections a better place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71