You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Citing sources - is it enough? The war against plagiarism continues

in #discussion7 years ago

Great article. Just wanted to say thank you for raising this point with me yesterday was it was my one concern and wasn't sure what was the best way to go about it.

I'm conflicted in the sense that I enjoy discussing crypto and other stuff on a personal account but also feel that Steemit is a great platform to share content from our website and possibly monetise that way.

In the current media world, it's becoming a struggle to make ends meet, making it hard to refrain from the clickbaiting as you need to have thousands and tens of thousands of views to even earn anything remotely decent.

So far I've seen that Steemit could be a potential answer to this so as a website, this is something we definitely want to try out.

I have edited my profile to better reflect our website to appear more genuine as well as linking to Steemit from our About Us page as you suggested.

Therefore I do have a question. On Steemit, do you think it's best to post the whole article and give a link back to the original article (obviously it's our content and we would look to explore options further to verify this), or should we post a few paragraphs and put in a "Read More" link that directs to the full article?

Sort:  

I'm happy you took no offense in my words yesterday and glad to see you mentioned Steemit on your website, because I really do want to support your posts here!

You're right, Steemit is an excellent way of monetizing your online content more. It takes some work to build up a good following, but you should eventually see some growth in your income here. Especially when you engage with the community on other posts aswell.

I think, for Steemit profit, showing the entire article might be better. For more traffic to your website though, a "Read more" link might be preferable. Personally, I'd go for the full article if you're looking to earn more here. Your mention of your website below every article can bring some extra visitors to your site either way.

Thanks for the reply :) I think that may be the best route to go down. We're going to have a look and try and figure out what kind of content on Steemit people want and then try and post a few of those a week, ideally one or two a day and add another one or two a day that are written exclusively for Steemit.

We'll link at the bottom of each article and add a little disclaimer as well. Hopefully that will help people see that we aren't posting content that is not ours

Sounds like a great plan! I know a few of us would love to promote the #gaming tag here, so you're sure to get some nice attention on your gaming articles from time to time. Steemit exclusives are especially loved by most, because it's a good way to help the platform grow :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63173.85
ETH 3147.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87