#Discussion: What Do You Think Of A "Pay for A Review & Upvote" Program?

in #discussion7 years ago

The Problem

I think all Steemians agree that we have a problem here with so many good articles going un-noticed. If you ask minnows about their biggest problem with Steemit, they would say something like this:

I spend many hours creating high-quality content only to see it get buried unnoticed!

Are Upvote Bots The Solution?

Therefore, many Steemians are forced to use upvoting bots. I confess: I do. We find them to be a good way to get visibility. In fact, I am going to use it to attract attention to this post too.

The problem with those bots is that they are blind. They would upvote any post you send them as long as you send the money with it. So, this means that if a post is upvoted and has a high rank, then that does not mean it is of high quality. This was not the idea behind Steem.

A Proposed Solution: A "Pay for A Review & Upvote" Program

There are some great projects in Steemit that are trying to reward good content. @curie is the best example. However, Curie can not cover all of steemit. So, the more such projects we have, the better the quality we get, and the more satisfied minnows we get.

minnow-review.jpg

That is why I am thinking of creating a project similar to Curie but with a twist. Instead of searching for good posts my self, I will ask the author to suggest it to the project. However, ther would be a fee for suggesting articles.

The author would have to pay a small amount to suggest a post, and if the post was found to be good, she would receive an upvote that is worthed at least 100% more than what she spent. The fee is an incentive for the reviewer to read the post and evaluate it.

The Details: I need Help Here

It is amazing how many decisions you need to make when you create such a project. That is why I thought it would be best if I creat a #discussion post so the community can help me. The following are my questions:

1- What is the minimum upvote value that would make such a project worthed for minnows? Can I start with 20 cents?

2- If the suggested post was not high-quality, then should we refund the author? how much? All of her money?

3- How many posts should we accept?

4- How can we attract reviewers to help?

5- Should we let one author to participate more than once? how many times?

6- Any other suggestion? Did I miss something?

Please, tell me what do you think?


The #discussion Tag

This post is applying @timcliff's suggestion. If you missed his post, please check it here:
Hey Steemains - Let's start a #discussion!. It is a brilliant idea. So, Thank you @timcliff.

Sort:  
Loading...

" I spend many hours creating high-quality content only to see it get buried unnoticed! "
I very much agree with your post and Idea.
I like your post. And I like the discussion in post.
😣😣😣😣😣😣😣😣😣😣😣😣😣😣😣😣😣😣
and me too i have the problem.🇹🇭
Let me resteem it your post.😊😊
Thx.😊😊

Thank you very much, @kanokwan for your support.

Hahaha Thank you. 😊😊

I think the fees should be paid by readers rather than authors to make it more fair, and make the review more based on user demand, rather author paying the review themselves.

That's a good idea, @h0bby1. We can allow readers to suggest an article too.

Also, do not forget that the benefit of the program is to filter good content for other Steemians to read. Then they would pay the author with upvotes.

The author is not paying for an upvote! She gets the upvote for the quality of her post. She pays for the review.

Yes but if review are paid by author, is it really objective ? Reviewer with higher filtering will be paid less probably which seem counter productive.

The author does not choose the reviewer. We do.

If he is paid by the author, he will still be incitated to give positive review to get more payouts.

well don't we have a curation rewards pool for that?

if readers stop joining voting trails and delegating 1% of their voting power to them and choose to give a full vote worth of steem to the writer maybe 4 to 5 times a day instead of spreading thing something they don't have steemit can become a wonderful place were everyone gets what they deserve.

well don't we have a curation rewards pool for that?

They are clearly not enough. 25% of the post reward is distributed among so many upvoters! Actually, the community has been complaining about this for a long time. On the other hand, most other systems pay the reviewers much more.

if readers stop joining voting trails ...

Well, that is a big IF. The situation is not ideal. That's why I think this project can help.

I'm doing my part, networking and leading by example, I'm in the process of setting up a quality dream team, there will be a vote-trail, every one is welcomed to join for the rewards, but under 100SP they should remain above 80% VP or will be disabled and for those who join with more than 500 SP up to 1000 they should autorize 1 vote @ 100% a day at least. (degressive the higher the SP is, also I'm looking for backers inside steemit who want to invest in quality over quantity.

The Latino community right now has 1 single whale (or semi whale not sure) that is not helping much and a lot of minnow trails 150+ votes for a return of 40 cents...

I put my money where my mouth is and I'm leading by example, I can happily say I have found quite a few people that share my views and are willing to help. (And that was from my 0.500 days, so I know they are for real)

For me as a minnow an not a techy or computer language literate person I am cautious and weary to send and steem SBD at all. I have never used an upvoting bot not because I don't want to but because I am unsure what is safe how it works and if it is ethical or a scam even. I think this may be the case for many minnows like myself.

I think a good solution would be a task oriented payment, to get a post upvoted and resteemed a user would have to complete some sort of task like resteeming and upvoting an already made post by the said bot account. Or maybe creating a new post with specific content referring to the bot account and info.

This way new minnows can get attention and not feel scared or confused on how to send SBD. I am actually going to send SBD for my first time tomorrow in order to pay the winner of my first SBD random giveaway so it should be interesting.

Thank you, @isteemithard for your input.

I agree, sometimes this whole new system becomes too confusing, but after you learn it, it becomes more comfortable. In addition, I like that you are cautious and careful. In crypto world, that is always good. Yet, I suggest you invest in learning more and more. Knowledge would help you protect yourself better.

I have never used an upvoting bot not because I don't want to but because I am unsure what is safe how it works and if it is ethical or a scam even

Upvoting bots are not a scam. However, the ethical side of using them is still a controversy.

What you propose is what i claim somewhere in the comments here, I will get my time paid back from supporting votes in the curation articles (like the one you had a bad experience with).

You might have little SP but you have some good articles in there, and if you join discussions and keep bringing quality comments and helping shape ideas, people will start following you and you will build a voters base in no time.

If I can allow myself, somewhere you ask me for advice; stop the spammy techniques and find your self a niche ( something you really enjoy doing for steemit, Vlogs, writing about what you do or whatever it is you enjoy.

I see many people trying everything to see what works, well when you work in what you love, life is a permanent holiday.

Some of us have no choice but to post in 2 languages, (spanish impared lol) but you don't have that problem :D

Also if you like to give me a hand we can replicate what i'm doing in Spanish for a group of English speaking minnows, my vote is not worth much, but hey those are 46 more cents for the author.

Suppose you decide to return 10 cents to the author then chances are that you would end up designing a bot which rejects all the post and keeps the remaining 10 cents with it everytime.

I did not get your point.

1- This is not supposed to be a bot. Not at all.

2- If the author pays 10 cents, and got 20 cents + a recognition of quality, then I think it would be a good deal. don't you?

That is amazing!!............

This post has received a 0.45 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This post has received a 2.62 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @sadekj.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sadekj from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

@sadekj got you a $6.87 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@sadekj got you a $6.87 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67720.40
ETH 3794.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48