You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Citing sources - is it enough? The war against plagiarism continues

in #discussion7 years ago

you have made some excellent points here.. I did a post with a broken link..it went to the site intended but got a 404 and cheetah commented, which was great .. I fixed the link..after 7 days you can't.. I like your idea about linking on both ends if it is yours... also I see people putting complete comic books by someone else ..famous ones..sometimes not even siting the source.. weird.. it gets shared too. not sure how it all works.. I like you idea of letting people know.

Sort:  

Yeah, that's the biggest issue here: After 7 days, you can't edit your post anymore. So what if some bigshot author finds a copy/paste post of his content and decides to make trouble, because some Steemian earned from it? This Steemian can't do anything about it, even if, two weeks after posting, he/she found out about plagiarism. This person could get into some serious legal trouble.

I can understand showing a comic book page when reviewing it, but at the very least they should cite their source. Simply copying entire comic books here, without adding any value is just wrong. Definitely worth flagging in my opinion.

The fact that it gets shared just shows us that a lot of people don't know or understand the concept of plagiarism. That's why I feel it should be much more apparent on the site that these things aren't allowed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63896.48
ETH 3315.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92