You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Discussion - Towards the Future: Creating a better World We All Want to Live In

in #discussion7 years ago

"Creating a world we all want to live in", as a meaningful first objective or aim, is absolute folly in my opinion.

That is God's job, not mine.

I can create a world that "I want to live in", my own internal world. But that takes years of self observation and herculean efforts. Once I can master my own internal world, perhaps then I might be able to assist God in "creating a world we all want to live in."

Who has the self-mastery to "turn the other cheek"?

Sort:  

In spite of what this post might suggest, I would tend to agree that it is folly to explore something like that, as an absolute objective.

However, as the basis for creating thought platforms and discussions that get people to start thinking about their lives and their roles in the universe-- rather than just traversing life as mindless sheep-- it find it quite useful... a bit like the age old "what's the meaning of life?"

It may be God's job to be the ultimate builder but I believe it is our jobs as individuals to be those who either tend the garden as responsible gardeners... or let it go to seed and weeds as a result of indifference and apathy. So we start with the world I want to live in which might be centered on mindfulness; I choose (figuratively speaking) to not toss my gum wrapper "wherever I feel like," because in my world the garden is free of trash... and I must lead by example to strive for that end.

Does "self mastery" actually exist? I honestly don't know... and often consider the possibility that it is much like "enlightenment," in the sense that as long as we claim to be seeking it, we're effectively making the declaration that we don't have it. And so, it is simply a journey.

In my opinion, self-mastery is the ability to act rather than react. In a way, it is the ability to choose.

People think they have that ability already, but usually that is an illusion. Kind of like what you have already said about the gum wrapper. Even such a more or less trivial situation requires mindfulness.

Ah yes, "responding rather than reacting," long a favorite teaching point. And, as you say, most people don't have it... it remains a life-long practice to simply be the observer, recognizing that my ego is arising and then falls away again, upon being recognized for what it is.

Just wanted to say "thanks so much for the upvote" @onceuponatime. That was super generous of you and I appreciate it. It even beats my best author reward so far. 💙

And thanks, of course, to @denmarkguy for creating the opportunity. 💛

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59165.12
ETH 2617.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43