You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An idea for encouraging curation

in #discussion6 years ago (edited)

The way I see the 50 / 50 proposal is this.

It depends on whether you are a content creator, only curator, or both. There are dozens of people who just curate. And with "heavy" wallets. Those guys will be benefited most.

You for example do both and so do I so I don't really know who it would work for us.

But for those who just came in and mainly they create content hoping for some decent votes to arrive on their posts, while their vote is dust must be a disaster.

Just wondering...even if people pull back their delegations from bid bots so that they can manually curate, wouldn't the 50 / 50 be the ideal scenario to sell their votes? It would be a win win for them...
If I am wrong someone correct me plz.

Sort:  

wouldn't the 50 / 50 be the ideal scenario to sell their votes?

It depends, curation has a curve that can reward you rather well depending on how good you curate. I've had votes valued at $1 giving me back SP worth $1.1, etc. with 50% this could mean a $1 vote could return me a vote of $2.2 or more since more. Not 100% sure on that but just what I'm thinking.

About the newcomers it will depend on the quality and resteems. If someone or a curation project finds a post from a completely new user at 0.00 rewards and they give it a $10 vote and it ends at $500, they can earn a lot more rewards than if they had given themselves the $10 vote which half would be shared with other curators, or no one in case they are the only voters they'd only get the $10 back and wouldn't make $50 instead since no one else thought they had content worthy of upvoting.

It's a bit technical and theoretical at the moment but I don't think it would hurt trying it out, especially not now here at the bottom with the least active accounts and a price that can't get much worse than it is now.

It’s true. Now that the activity is pretty low I guess a change could be done. Btw: wouldn’t it require a new fork? Meaning new wallet maintenances...?
Or not?

As for this

and a price that can't get much worse than it is now.

I really hope so..

Yeah, that's why it should be considered carefully and the timing is important too so we don't annoy the exchanges too much. :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60716.93
ETH 2594.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55