You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is "Tribalism" Good, Bad or Indifferent? Is "Us vs. Them Our Strength or Our Downfall?

in #discussion6 years ago

I respect people’s rights to meet etc but I don’t think it’s always a good thing. For example, I was raised in an apocalyptic cult in which the world was supposed to end years ago. There was very much a them against us mentality. This has caused major harm to my family, ultimately leading to my dad committing suicide. I know this is an extreme example but it’s one I’ve lived through.

Sort:  

Yeah, I know you've seen an extreme version of this, up close and personal; had to be very difficult to experience.

I personally don't mind boxes as "descriptions" of someone's predominant belief systems, but once you get beyond that, there's always the danger that the box will be more like a "fence," designed to delineate. And I don't think that serves us well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38