How does crypto become cash? Where/how do you shop with crypto?

in #discussion6 years ago (edited)

Years later and there is still the problem with crypto (lack of gateways) how to spend, use, bring crypto profits back into legacy banking and the *sic 'real world.'

I think I suffer from martyrdom. Maybe much of the cryptospace is with me on this. Lets see.

Or maybe we are some the few people in the world that can still practice delayed gratification.

How many of you are totally broke (in your bank accounts and credit cards) or have been living seriously lean for at least the last few years (at least a decade for me)?

And how many are also now sporting nice crypto profits but continue to suffer with the stress of maxed creditcards and empty bank accounts?

For me fiat to crypto has been a one way street for many moons.. While we all seem to be awaiting the coming freight train of inevitable global fiat implosion and inflation. Maybe we should also focus on assuring our crypto 'life' actually become circular and spendable in the real world.

Please community advise me.. How can we actually use crypto in the physical economy currently.

Recently tried loading bitpay card from btc with $117 worth and it was going to cost ~33% in fees!

OCASH please hurry....

Xmas racking up the c/c's again.. How can I pay my c/c bills with crypto?

Coinbase may be compromised (may be why they are dragging their feet with bch). NOTE: Seconds after I posted this Coinbase released BCH.. Merry Christmas.

Paypal can be used to get cash back to bank accounts with btc via https://www.bitcoinfive.com/sell-bitcoins/ (too bad they don't have eth, ltc and other better (cheaper/faster) options than btc).

I smell a rat or maybe a cat... I believe cryptokitties may have been intentionally designed to crash eth...
And futures market in/on btc the same.. Not to mention Blockstream involvement in possibly taking over btc core and limiting innovation of btc to exotic (segwit2) solutions instead of obvious and simple (quadruple the blocksize).

I think I see (covert) signs of the currency (fiat/crypto) wars heating up..

What are your solutions and concerns you all have?

Thanks for the dialogue.

PS 50/50 split on your upvotes.. Thanks in advance.

Sort:  

@jovial-grace you exchange it to fiat on platform like luno.com

Thanks. LUNO- I will check that out.

I think you have a deep unconventional insight into the cryptosphere... Steemit is a good medium for letting out your deep-seated thoughts...
I look forward to seeing and digesting more incisive content on the state of cryptos from you


Your post has been resteemed to my 3000 followers

Resteem a post for free here

Power Resteem Service - The powerhouse for free resteems, paid resteems, random resteems

Upvote this comment if you like this service

Nice. Thank you .. My blessed day .. And as I've heard 'it takes one to know one...'

Congratulations, you have received a free upvote from @bonds!

Bonds offers a hedge against volatility as well as paid upvote and reSTEEM services.

Bonds is not a bot- this is run by humans, for humans.

Check out our #introduceyourself post to find- out more- if you like the idea, like or reSTEEM it, and we all benefit.

Happy STEEMing!

In Canada you can pay regular bills with bylls.com. I know you can buy stuff on overstock.com with bitcoin (through coinbase, though I haven't tried it). Unfortunately, I haven't yet been successful in finding a crypto card that works where I live.

I believe ethos, formerly known as bitquence, will address this issue
Plus tenx card should be coming soon :D

Thanks. Have to check out ethos. Surprised this is still such an issue after all these years.
Has anyone used Paypal via bitcoinfive.com to return funds to bank?
Excited about tenx too. Seems the gatekeepers are still firmly in control.

I use the bitpay visa card where i just load my bitcoin onto the visa and pay for just about everything . The fee is not 33% I just put on a few hundred dollars and the transfer of bitcoin over to the visa was small few dollars if that.

Well I don't know what I am doing wrong but just went to load my bitpay and doing even worse now.. the same as before - $150 after fees.. $61 after a $69 miner fee and a $19 network fee. I've contacted support and told them they need to add other cryptos and fast.

this is all new, things seem to be inconsistent and constantly changing. I looked over my account as of recent transfers and my fee was a lot higher than I have seen in the past. It was around 20% . This has me diving into it now seeing whats going on in that direction. I do see 2018 bringing a lot more ways in using bitcoin, this is all gonna be a long ride. thanks for your post and bringing this all to light , because of this I caught the increase in transfer fees. I do see on past transactions it was mere cents.

Revenge of the FATCATS!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jovial-grace to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Excellent .....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63157.91
ETH 3096.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91