You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Living in my own little Steemtopia : why I don't Self UpVote

in #discussion7 years ago

Interesting perspective you have and also a question thought about a lot. At first I didn't upvote my own content because I felt if I was writing it, then of course I liked my content. However after a while I have started upvoting all my content, (just my posts) just because every bit helps in the long run.

Now, I only post 2-3 times a week and I'd say 90% of my steemit activity is spent commenting or upvoting others content, so this is why I feel like its not a big issue. I only upvote my posts, not comments. Like yourself, my vote isn't worth too much, but over time it will grow. I feel that as long as I am active and the large majority of of my upvotes are helping people out then I don't see a problem.

Everyone needs to be fed, including yourself. @stellabelle, @jerrybanfield and @timcliff are all well established, so they are receiving enough votes that they don't need to self vote, but for us little guys every SP counts. just my opinion though.
tip!

Sort:  

Thank you for your comment and for the tip.

The problem with the argument that the bigger players get enough votes so they don't need to self upvote is when do you stop?

Would one stop self upvoting when you regularly get $5 on a post? Or when you get $25, or $50?

Where is the line in the sand?

That is a good question and I think everyone has a different answer. For me, I don't think there would be an amount where I stop upvoting. My outlook is that the more SP and value my account has, the more I am able to help others.

If I was just self voting my content daily and then logging out it would be a lot different, but as long as you are making an effort to help other steemians, I don't see the problem in only helping yourself. No point in giving all your food away if it means you will starve to death

So should all steemians at all levels self upvote - even right at the top?

That would drain the finite reward pool even faster - and those at the lower end would get even smaller crumbs to feed on 😊

I don’t think there is a definitive answer for this. I think as long as you are giving more to others than you are taking for yourself, you are not doing anything wrong. For example, say my upvote is worth $10. If I upvote 9 other posts a day while giving myself one upvote, I’m doing a 9:1 ratio. I see no problem with this

I completely agree with you. If you spend the time to put together a good quality post, by all means give yourself an upvote and well done. You just took the time to add value to the community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62152.13
ETH 2441.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65