Let's be More Courteous in Public. Besides it just being nice, you will feel better.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #discussion7 years ago

Maybe it's my lack of patience. Perhaps it is my smugness to rude behavior in public. Or it could be my perceived view of selfishness in that, "I was here first. Therefore I am #1 priority". Whatever it is, it is a massive pet peeve of mine.

The most recent example was this morning as I went to Subway for an early lunch. I have been getting the same sandwich at Subway for the last few months. 12" Italian, no meat or cheese, just a lot of veggies and 3 lines of different sauces. A pretty damn easy sub for the guy behind the counter to put together quickly.

As I was walking in, I saw a customer engaging with the employee through the glass. As I got in line, the customer asked one more question and then the employee pulled out 3, 12 inch loaves. Ok, I thought, 3 sandwiches...not too bad, I can wait. Then this guy pulls out his cell phone and makes a phone call on speaker phone. Gets the machine and proceeds to leave a message. At this point, I am perturbed that this guy can be so oblivious to his actions in public. His 3 subs are almost ready to move on to the veggies, but wait, there's more. He orders 3 more subs.

You have got to be fucking kidding me.

No joke. He asked about the daily specials again and got 3 more.

I was planning on getting a take and bake pizza for dinner for the family too so I figured I would go kill sometime ordering that down the hall of this business plaza. Placed my pizza order, paid for it, and went back to wait in line at Subway.

Stood right back in the same place I was a few minutes prior. His second round of 3 subs were about to move onto the veggies and I could hardly wait to spit out my order, when, the employee pulled out another 3 loaves of bread.

Am I being Punk'd right now? Where are the cameras? Because this can't be real life. But it was. This guy had ordered 9 subs. Besides one guy sitting down and eating already, I was the only other person in line.

To my amazement and good fortune, another employee came out from the shadows and asked for my order. He cut the bread and went to the veggies. Less than a minute later I had paid and I was walking out with my sub.

This jackass in line ahead of me knew he was going to order 9 subs and take up the one employees time for at least the foreseeable future. Why not let the one customer behind you quickly place his order and be on his way? I find this to come down simply to a lack of courtesy.

The other example is probably more common to every day people, seeing as you don't normally get behind people in line that order 9 freaking subway sandwiches.

Imagine you're walking to check out at your local grocery store. There is a lane open and you head for it. You swung in real quick to grab a handful of some last minute items and are about to turn into the lane, until a person with a few months worth of food beats you to it and stares at you while they start unloading their stuff onto the belt.

It's like, 'why'? It will take me a minute to check out and it will take you 10. Be courteous and let the other person go ahead if you know you will take forever.

Maybe it's just me, I don't know. But I always try and take notice of what it is I am doing, and how that will positively or negatively effect the people around me, especially in public.

Am I the crazy person here? Or do you feel the same way? Let's discuss!

Thanks for reading and Steem on!

Pics sourced from google

Sort:  

I see what your saying but I get in this all the time I always try to be polite and always think to do this but then someone comes right behind them with only one or two things and then it's like do I wait for yet another person to skip me. I always try to be nice and kind but sometimes you just need to be patient as well.

I completely see your point, and I should have included that allowing someone ahead of you is a pure case by case basis. In these two examples, the subway guy absolutely knew I was waiting in line as he made eye contact with me and I was the only person waiting in line. It was just shy of 11am, not their busiest time. He just didn't care.

At the grocery store, I wouldn't expect someone to continually give up their spot. Eventually you need to stand your ground, but I don't see that scenario happening all too often, tbh.

With a 7 month old at home now, I find my patience being tested more and more every single day. It seems to be one of the harder feats for me to grasp. Thanks for your insight :)

Congratulations @intothewild! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93