This Changes Everything

in #discussion7 years ago



Again

..............................................................................................................................................................................

The robocar revolution has the potential to assist China in dominating vehicle manufacturing. That’s the bad news — unless you are a Chinese manufacturer. The better news is that manufacturing is only part of the car industry, and it’s getting smaller.

  • China has the largest car manufacturing industry, and is strong in electric cars
  • Brand of the manufacturer is almost irrelevant in taxi service
  • Reliability of the taxi is much less relevant
  • US tech companies need manufacturing partners
  • The money in ground transport is in service, not cars

Yup...times..they be a changing. I've owned a car, a bike, a truck , and now a boat , several at a time or combinations of all of them at once...for about five decades. I was actually car poor more than once. The upkeep, the monthly payment, the insurance and the taxes...ate my sack lunch.

I was young and dumb at the time so I didn't really realize it.

I DO NOW!

I purely HATE the idea of having to buy a new car.

All I want is transportation. I want to be able to go where I want to go...WHEN I want to go (no waiting in line) ...by myself (I don't like people)...safely and in comfort. Up until now that meant owning a car (or motorcycle, truck or private 747...gotta love that Trump). NO MORE. Now I can use an App...and minutes later Uber (or Lyft or any of several others) will show up at my door.

It takes me where I want to go...and it's done.
(no hassel with parking...etc)

When I want to go somewhere else...there' an AP for that..

With robot cars it'll be even BETTER.

With Robot cars in hyperloops?

Sort:  

Aren't there still a lot of other options besides China though?

There are many.
But recall what Elon Musk said regarding the HyperLoop.
"the hardest part is getting all of the permits"

Thanks for sharing
And for your transparency 👍🏻

I have an opinion about everything...and I'm always eager to share.

You know Chinese they don't give up.

actually I don't believe that I do know Chinese.
Can't recall ever having met one.

When I left Denmark as a 20-year old greenhorn, I have to admit the thought of owning a car hadn't even occurred to me.

"Over there," all I ever did was ride the bus and subway... because public transit worked; it was cheap and went everywhere.

I totally get the "car poor" thing. Payments. Insurance. Upkeep. Gas.

I expect fleets of robocabs will be the future. Any industry revolving around humans driving vehicles is likely to vanish within 20 years. Robots don't fall asleep, they don't drink and they don't get lost.

I got my first vehicle at age six (a bicycle)...
At about age sixteen I got a motorcycle...
after that it was cars, trucks, etc...
Where I'm from is twice the size of Denmark and

and there IS no public transportation. If you wanna get somewhere it's up to you.

Picture me, blond Scandinavian college student "fresh off the boat"... trying to board a Cap. Metro bus in Austin, circa 1981... mutterings in the background about "a white boy is riding the bus..."

BINGO!
I rode a Metro bus once...In Dallas..in 1970...
same thing...
Last time I rode a bus..

Sorry if this sounds inconsiderate, but are these instances of racism hurled at someone for being white. Sorry but just wondering. I may be completely off the trajectory that you two are sharing here.

are these instances of racism hurled at someone for being white
?
Are you serious?
There are whole classes taught on the subject in various universities!


But that's not what we were referring to. The idea was that white boys weren't welcome on the bus...and bad things might happen to us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66822.01
ETH 2593.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66