SeaSteading

in #discussion7 years ago



A serialized Book Review
...................................................................................................................................................
Seasteading: How Floating Nations Will Restore the Environment, Enrich the Poor, Cure the Sick, and Liberate Humanity from Politicians

I just purchased it from Amazon. ($12.99 ebook) I thought I'd comment on it as I read it.
....................
the first thing I see when I open it is




digging deeper I come upon the inevitable justification

I suppose some people consider that to be important. I don't. I just want to know How, When, and How Much (it's gonna cost me)

............................

In the first part the concept is described. The idea is a nomadic lifestyle on the Oceans. Individual modular units owned by the people living in them would be free to 'hook up' with larger groups . If they didn't like it in one group they could sail away and join another group.

Works for me.

The book goes into greater detail describing such an arrangement. The authors mention modern day cruise ships, which are in effect, floating cities. In a manner of speaking sea steads are already in existence...by another name.

They say..."If you step off an American or European coastal city and step onto a cruise ship, your standard of living may rise, and your cost of living may drop"

" Celebrity Eclipse offers a ten-day transatlantic crossing from Florida to England, stopping at several Caribbean islands such as the Bahamas, Puerto Rico, and Saint Martin --at a cost of $31 per night, not counting tips. Want an ocean view? That's $38 per night."

I'm starting to get excited now. I wonder how that would compare to what a Steemer paid for SteemFest One or Two? Imagine a SteemFest on a Cruise Ship?

but wait..there's more.

"In 2014 Shell, the oil and gas company, anchored off the coast of Australia the world's largest floating offshore structure, which will remain at sea for up to twenty-five years. A hundred and fifty feet LONGER than the Empire State Building is high, the Preluded floating liquefied natural gas facility is built to withstand Cat Five Typhoons (hurricanes)."

So it's been done...

"park a dozen such floating skyscrapers next to one another, and we'd have a floating city with waterways for roads"

not to mention the possibility of 'zip-lines' between them, flying taxis and who knows what else. Let your imagination run free.

it gets better.

" If such a city were to float more than 200 nautical miles from shore - the outer limit at which a land-based government could assert any kin of jurisdiction - then it's inhabitants would be free to start afresh with a new government."

I LIKE that...I rilly, rilly do.

in fact...it's already happening.

In an unprecedented move, Royal Caribbean International has officially seceded from land, and establlished itself as the Nation of Why Not........."

at least one person, Lee Wachtstetter has lived on it since 2007. It's relatively expensive..she pays $164,000 a year. That's expensive to ME...but your milage may vary.

excerpts

  • 'it's easier to move a cargo ship the size of a skyscraper across the ocean than it is to mover your HOUSE to the next town.

  • Enter the Massive Portunus Project, a plan to build six floating megaports......................twenty to forty miles offshore.......................self-powered by wind turbines and wave energy converters."

  • Deep sea oil rig workers typically live on floating facilities two weeks out of four.

  • "Hundreds of thousands of people live on oil and gas platforms built to withstand hurricanes.

...........................
.
That's all for now. I may post some more later (I'm only on page NINETEEN!!)

Sort:  

You are hustling hard Mickey.

Do you have Discord? I have built a politically Incorrect Steemians group on discord.

Benefits:
-Free Speech
-2 Guaranteed upvotes and comments by posting your posts in the promo section
-Active leadership who will help you if you need help with Steem or the server
-Awesome people
-A lot of politically incorrect fun

I don't know what Discord is.

Its like the Steem chat just better. You don't even need to install it.

Just click on the link and you join us politically incorrect guys.

A veteran is there as well.

Just click on this link and you enter the chatroom -> https://discord.gg/KsWuDMN

I don't know what steemchat is either.
I tend to get kicked out of chatrooms.

Not in our chat.

You can be politically incorrect as much as you want.

Free speech is important.

I'll give it some thought.
Right now I'm getting drunk and reading about seasteading.

Cheers!

Well discord is you disagree with someone on something and you wanna argue your point with him.

Sounds like an invasion...

Good post,
I always like your post.
Thanks my friend for sharing information

@everettmickey - I love reading your posts and writing - in this post the little side comments if yours between the chapter descriptions made me smile.. the book undoubtedly seems interesting though d I'd love to get more insight from you ad you read it because it may be right upy alley

It's definitely interesting.
I'm on page 41 now.

I dig your creativity. Never would have thought to pick up a book about living at sea. But now it sounds so appealing. Thanks Mick!

It's an interesting book.
I'm on page 67 now..the author has NO RESPECT (for established institutions)
he's sarcastic as hell..funny too.
I like that.

This is a very intriguing idea - reminds me of the movie "Waterworld" with Kevin Costner where the town is floating collection of boats and structures. I have often thought that if boat existed that could submerge 20 or 30 feet down, it could easily escape from the violence of most storms. The problem that I see with this idea is that even if the floating town were 200 miles offshore, they would be an easy target for land based governments. Also what would protect the inhabitants from greed and other social ills that plague our existing land based societies.

Water world was bogus in SO many ways. (cool trimaran though)
Why do you think land based governments would target a seastead?

I think the biggest reason would be to squash the idea from spreading among citizens that there is an alternative to government oppression.

I like this idea too, I have been hearing and reading about it for at least 15 years.Bob Ballard I think was first contact w/ idea for me .
One of the goals in my life than I am behind on,... so many of those...lol...
49 close to half way right? almost over the hill, it gets easier!!..
;-)
Hope you continue to share the rest of the story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62816.09
ETH 2466.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64