Sort:  

Yes, I absolutely agree. I moved to Thailand because I gave up on the American dream.

I am shocked by how much free-er it is here and in all the countries nearby that I have been to.

I think "pretend" is the key word in your question. My thing is weight loss and with 7 out of 10 Americans obese or overweight, you would think I'd be doing well. Instead I argue with people about how they aren't really that fat and it's not really a problem anyway.

But the final straw for me was the Trolley Cops of San Diego. When resources are used to constantly check an old lady like me to make sure I paid - this is a bad sign of things to come. (7 out of 10 Trolley Cops are fat, btw)

Sandy Eggo...I think I've heard of it...isn't it in a communist country?
no wonder you went to Thailand.

It was an interesting stop on my voyage, but I was never so happy to get on plane in my life.

isn't it the case with US citizens (not you, but generally), that overseas income is taxable in the US? (or am I mistaken).

Overseas income is taxable but only over certain levels and if you are a us resident I think. The law is kind of complicated in that area and ever-changing. I never directly worked in that area nor researched it. I know that people renounce citizenship for this reason and that the us is one of the most aggressive in seeking income overseas.

By the grace of God I am not a citizen even though I was there for most of my life, so I have not thought about the tax ramifications for citizens at all. Just to open up an overseas bank account takes extra work for a us passport.

it's costing more and more and MORE to renounce citizenship lately.
the fee for doing so has gone way UP.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60844.65
ETH 2995.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88