People Sleep Peacefully in Their Beds at Night

in #discussion7 years ago (edited)



Only Because Rough Men Stand Ready to Do Violence on Their Behalf.
...........................................................................................................................................................................

It's called Deterrence and it works a lot better if the bad guys know what's waiting for them

Trump Wants Pentagon To Stage Military Parade Down Pennsylvania Avenue
The Dhmikrats and the Rinos had NO PROBLEM with a 'pussy march' ...a bunch of people wearing goofy hats and costumes which represented vaginas..

They seem to have a problem with a military display.

That's the way that they are.. I suppose it tells us a lot about them.

Come the midterms.....every politician running for re election should face a primary first. Each and everyone one of them...especially RINOs.

Sort:  

"a bunch of people wearing goofy hats and costumes which represented vaginas"this is a good word. enough about it @everittdmickey

I guess the Democrats can go on record saying our troops are not worth it.

they've done that.
being in the military when a dhmikrat is the president is NOT any fun.
been there..done that.

All these snowflakes love to forget who is defending them

It's called Deterrence and it works a lot better if the bad guys know what's waiting for them

Anyone failing to grasp this really really easy concept, has never had experience of life on the coal face...

....and have no argument. They are naive at best, and need to get life experience before pontificating..

not a chance.
at the first sign of violence they'll wet their pants and want the guberment to protect them.

I think you've got a pretty one-sided view of what you're saying here.

People sleep peacefully in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf.

What about all the people that are losing sleep because there are rough-men doing violence to them?

And at the very least, I would think it's probably a little bit easier to sleep if there aren't loud steel tanks rolling down the neighbourhood, either for show or an actual act of aggression.

This isn't a personal attack on you, but I believe what he is saying is that...

  1. There shouldn't be anything that would trigger any patriotic American over a military parade, how is that offensive to actual American citizens? We've got to get past this PC culture of everyone being offended all the time.
  2. There is a place and time for all grievances, but Mr. Mickey here, was voicing a grievance over people not wanting a military parade, while they gladly accept topless vagina-hat parades celebrating a vile bastardization of "feminism" (if it can even be called that anymore)... and I'm a woman... American at that.
  3. Regardless, your comment about people losing sleep over having violence done to them isn't really relevant to his point.... Of course, there are people out there who have been victims of violence, and even victims of war - but, to pretend that violence via armed forces hasn't been required to defend the sovereignty of every single regime/nation that's ever been on the planet, is just silly and naive.

Militias are required, and sometimes a military parade is all it takes to nurture patriotism and fellowship among the people... I personally am more than ready to be able to be proud of my country... for too long we've felt ashamed of being American, and we cannot progress without at least some confidence and pride in who we are.

Not only all the above, but a military parade is also a way to honor and appreciate the sacrifices that our soldiers and their families have made... regardless of how we feel about policy, these soldiers deserve recognition and national appreciation besides their free Veteran's Day meal at Golden Corral once a year... (yay!)

Edit: that Golden Corral bit was sarcasm in case anyone missed it LOL... but seriously, we have to do better by our Veterans, and a parade in their honor is a perfect way to do so.

To your points above (and I'll preface this with the fact that I am not American, so take from that what you will):

  1. I didn't know anyone was offended by the parade -- but people certainly are too quick to take offense to anything they disagree with -- my impression is that they just thought it was a dumb idea -- which it probably is. If it's a show of force, or a display of a deterrent, it's a bit redundant, because I would imagine everyone that is old enough to read would know that America has the most powerful military in the history of mankind. It just kinda seems like spending extra money on something that they're already spending way too much money on.
  2. I think there's a pretty large difference between having a parade to show solidarity among a group of people that has been generally taken advantage of / abused in a variety of forms in recent history, and having a parade to celebrate a country's infrastructure that they've assembled for (to put it nicely) conflict resolution. I can see how someone could start to be put off by the display of the numerous ways they're able to hurt others (again -- for whatever reason. There are people that would argue that the only thing they're "defending" are the interests of global capitalist forces -- but that's another discussion entirely).
  3. I didn't say anything about violence not being required historically. It obviously has been required -- it just seems strange to me that violence is something that should be celebrated. On that note, though, I would suggest that using history to justify the present or the future is a slippery slope. To suggest that through time we can't come up with newer technologies or methods to resolve conflicts is, I dare say, silly and naive. You don't have to look much further than the sanctions that have been imposed on Iran or North Korea to see that these are tools (effective or not) that are being deployed in lieu of violence.
  4. (Lets call your second comment point #4). Parades are certainly a way to honor something. I don't deny that. While I do believe that those that chose to serve should be appreciated, I think it's a bit dangerous to honor and appreciate regardless of how we feel about policy -- I'm sure that if you look at any conflict in history, you'll probably find that a large portion of those who were on the wrong side of history may have been just moving forward regardless of how they truly felt -- it's easy for people to disassociate their thoughts and their actions. I don't think it's a great idea to blindly honor someone that does something that you think is a bad idea. Also -- doesn't the USA give a shoutout to their troops at the opening of every sporting event, on tv commercials, whenever the military is mentioned in Hollywood, and all sorts of schooling events? I feel like there's a healthy dose of patriotism going on already.

For what it's worth (and I apologize for the long winded post) -- I believe that if more nations had mandatory military service (like South Korea or Israel for example), the populous would have a better understanding of what these forces go through, are asked to do, and they'd all probably be a little bit more politically involved at one scale or another.

Thanks for taking the time to have a bit of a discussion. I appreciate it.

Oh, @mstafford, I'm glad I didn't offend you, I was afraid I had, and if I did in any way I apologize.

Us Americans are on edge, like lots of the planet at the moment, as I'm sure you know. :) I agree with, or at least respect, everything you've said. The military industrial complex is definitely real and is one of the nastiest things to have ever happened to our planet.

But, maybe what outsiders don't understand is that we have a morale problem of sorts over here, half (or more) of our population has literally lost their minds and it's getting tough to deal with.

We need something to rally patriots together because the psycho DNC & Co. have failed at their soft coup, and the next phase is an armed coup. I really believe that is their plan. They will not just give up, they've made that clear. We need solidarity now - we haven't needed it this much since the Revolution.

We don't want war, but we cannot allow a rogue faction to overthrow our duly elected President, regardless of how we personally feel about him. And they will resort to violence, they have before. I personally am anti-war!! And I'm not a conservative, although I sound like one at times, I'm very much a textbook classic liberal, just slightly right fiscally.

I hope this helps outsiders understand, over here we're not worried about a foreign war so much at the moment, as we are a civil war.

This is what I love about Steemit, civil conversation :)

well said...better than I could

What about all the people that are losing sleep because there are rough-men doing violence to them

Hence the need for rough men to protect you.

Protection of and aggression to are two different things, not to be conflated.

yup..and THAT was the whole point.
I'm glad you caught it.
so many didn't.

I understand the original point. Maybe it's because I'm not an American, so I don't see things in the same light as those that are -- but it seems to me that if a nations military forces are engaged in conflicts in other countries, then there's a pretty strong possibility that a large number of people would see the foreign military in their country as an aggressor. That's all I was trying to say -- no more no less.

There's no doubt in my mind that protection of things requires aggression to things, at times -- certainly not every time.

....but it seems to me that if a nations military forces are engaged in conflicts in other countries,

Yes this is aggression, not protection....

(I'm not a colonial either lol)

All fine and dandy, but who will protect us from thieving corrupt government of corporate oligarchs?

different subject (a logical fallacy too)
has nothing to do with a parade.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67350.62
ETH 2656.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69