I don't get along with some people

in #discussion6 years ago


Yeah...it's a shock isn't it?
.............................................................................................................................................................

I'm a retired trucker. I got along just fine with MY kind of people. The guys who wore hardhats , coveralls and boots. The guys who actually got down and dirty and DID SOMETHING.

Me and crane operators did just fine, and generally anyone who operated heavy equipment, or roughnecks. I could even get along with foremen.

Swivel butt office workers...not so much.

I don't like 'sideways talkers'. When I ask a question either answer it straight up or don't answer it at all. Don't go 'sideways' and answer a question that I didn't ask. Don't lie to me. Trust is damn hard to get and very easy to loose. Once lost it's almost impossible to regain.

Salesmen are the worst. (a politician is a type of salesman) . WhenI see a salesman and I want to beat them up and take their lunch money. It took decades of (bad) experience to form this opinion. Mostly from buying trucks. Real estate brokers are worse.

Why am I writing this?

I've been dealing with real estate agents for the last few days.

Sort:  

I literally laughed out loud at this post. It's a great one with lots and lots of attitude. You don't need to hide a thing...

Howdy from Texas @everittdmickey! just found you, love your attitude, my kind of man. My wife and I were in the insane real estate business for 12 years, started with nothing and rose to the top of the REO niche, defying all odds. My wife was the Realtor and she had wild success by NEVER selling anything! She just tried to help people, didn't matter to her if they bought or not. Her broker told her she would never make it when we first started..by the 5th year he said he should be working for her.
Bottom line: we walked in integrity and love. you don't have to be a salesman to make sales. I love your attitude.."Swivel butt office workers" lol!

Thank you.
I earned that attitude.
It first begin to germinate when I was in the Viet Nam war.
Office clerks had new equipment (combat boots?)
Those of us who worked 'out in the field'.....didn't.
Boots ROT in that climate. I went thru my first pair preetty quick.
Getting a new pair?
Like pulling hen's teeth.
They were available for the 'swivel butt office clerks'...but not for the truck drivers.

unbelievable. yes sir you DID earn that attitude!
we need more like you bytheway and thank you for
your service.

Haha.. So true.
Most times the people that try to rip me off, they call me "Sir" & wear a suit.

I don't wear a suit, but in my position, people in suits need to be nice to me.

I'm a swivel chair person but the guys I learnt under said to me clearly, "People like you and me, we are just parasites on the dog, so always keep that in mind before you think you're better than others."

Refreshing outlook :)

exactly right.
people in 'support' positions have one job.
that is to SUPPORT those on the pointy end of things.

There there @everittdmickey. It's an experience we've all been through. Those brokers will say just about anything

I've noticed that.

How to deal with real estate agents:

  1. This is the price I want for my home. Your opinion does not matter. This is the sale price.
  2. As-Is, I am not fixing repairing, cleaning or any ....ing for anything.
  3. I need 24 hours minimum notice for walk through viewing of the property. My dog will be at home, I will be at home. for all viewings.
  4. if you can not deal with that, then I will find an agent who can. Last time I looked with in a 12 mile radius of my home is 14 Real Estate offices.

Simple plain. When we were selling our home in California the buyer did not understand as-is. They came back with 2 counter offers still wanting us do do yard clean-up. The answer was no here is the price, here is the deal. AS-IS. They tried a third time, I told my real estate agent send it back with no comment other than denied.. fourth time they had everything right on their offer.

Tell the real estate agent they work for you, you do not work for them.

That'd work.
But I'm buying...not selling.

My suggestion is you wait until 2022 when we are deep in a recession and you can by a house for at least 30% discounted to today's price.

Then that sucks. Hard to deal with unless it is a buyers market, not sure what it is today, and really depends on area. But yes get ready to get hosed by the agents, yours and theirs.

Unfortunately, a good majority of the whole economic system revolves around sales. Almost to the point that everything is Sales to some extent. You must not like a lot of people. :) :)

real estate broker?
My sympathies go out to you, sir.

do you want to buy the red one, or the blue one? which do you prefer?
:D

  • sales supervisor for 5 years

I want the green polka dot one.
(think outside the box)

i think thinking outside the box should be taught more in schools... rather than teaching how to memorize and repeat facts, thinking critically and questioning motives should be 101.

I agree.
Problem solving and essay questions should be the norm.

I can totally relate especially in the case of politicians

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97