"Be careful out there!"

in #discussion7 years ago



tweeted litecoin creator Charlie Lee ""In my mind, it's just a scam and it hurts litecoin."
...........................................................................................................................................................................

OH GOODY...another AIRDROP.

  • " users seem mostly interested in the "free" money."

Lee told CoinDesk:

  • "It confuses people into thinking litecoin is splitting. The litecoin community has no interest in splitting. It's just some people trying to make a quick buck. And calling it litecoin gives them some legitimacy."
    ......................

    Read the article and make up you own mind. I report, you decide.
    As for me...I'm NOT buying any LiteCoin for this particular reason. I have other reasons to do so.

I think I agree with Lee. Whether it's a scam or not it sure looks like one. It's unethical and immoral in my mind to copy a namebrand just to get free publicity. In the 'real world' there are laws agains that.

However, if I suddenly get MOAH 'free' money for the LiteCoin that I already have...why that's OK too.

Dunno how I'll ever get to it.
Dunno if I'd open an account in a new exchange just to get it.

Guess we'll just see what happens won't we?

Sort:  

I do not agree with Charlie. He is just defending his creation. Here is an interview with one of the devs from LCC where he explains everything.

Not scam and very secure hardfork

https://smartoptions.io/interview-litecoincash/

Btw same happens to him when he created LTC forking BTC ... but it is always different to be in "the other side"

the LCC team describes a way of claiming the free coins on their website by the use of their wallet – which needs the private key.

yeah..right.
good luck with that.
Let us know how it turns out.
Now I'm even MORE concerned.

Did you read this part too?

At every step, we encourage “safe forking”. The golden rule is that you never, ever use a private key that holds live coins to claim fork coins — including ours! After the fork block, the very first thing you do is move your Litecoin to a new address, so that the private key which held your coins during the fork is now worthless on the Litecoin network. That key, worth zero Litecoin, is what you import into the Litecoin Cash wallet to claim your coins.

what THAT sounds like is even MORE disturbing.
"I promise we wont use your keys...just let us borrow them for a little while"

where have we heard THAT before?

"I promise we wont use your keys...just let us borrow them for a little while"

Yes, he will use the keys of a wallet without ANY LTC. I did not write the complete process but he explain you should download a wallet you will never use again and put your LTCs there and after the fork-block you send them again back to the original wallet you had them before.

I still not see any risk associated with this process.

I thought the same as you watching Charlie's tweets but that made me investigate and I found this interview. At least for me it explains very well all the doubts that I may have about how safe the process is, the reasons, etc.

you might find this interesting. I had to watch it several times....yankees talk faster than i can listen.

Btw thanks for the video!

Pd: For a reason I do not remember now I forgot to push the Post button today in the morning for this comment but is never to late.

good luck with that.
let us know how it turns out.

heheheh the nice Luke, I met him at Steemfest 2, someone you're very happy to talk with, he always has something interesting to ask or say.

Btw, I already have some value comming from LCC ;) I still have an old mining SHA256 thrown around that I will be able to use to mine LCC. From the interview.

We couldn’t find a single coin that uses SHA256 while having fast block times and an effective retargeting algorithm, and that was very interesting to us. Wherever you weigh in on SHA256 vs Scrypt, you can’t deny there’s a whole lot of SHA256 mining hardware out there.

At the moment, those miners have extremely limited choices for where to send their hashpower; realistically, it’s going to be Bitcoin or Bitcoin Cash. In both cases, there are inconveniences. Blocks are slow. Difficulty retargeting, while improved in Bitcoin Cash, is not great.

It looks like I'm going back to my old mining days ... at least for a while ;)

Also you get this.

Litecoin’s 2.5 minute block target is great and allows for fast transactions. The issue is the difficulty adjustment, which leads to that target block time not being met very accurately. This can be nicely demonstrated by the countdown to our fork block on our website, which has slipped over 6 hours earlier over the last few days, and is now looking like being Sunday evening instead of Monday morning!

All this is because Litecoin’s mining difficulty is only adjusted every 2016 blocks. This means the network can’t deal very effectively with rapid changes in available hashpower. We address that by using DarkGravity, which adjusts the difficulty target every block to give more consistent block times however much hashpower is available on the network.

For the records .. I do not own BCash or BGold or BDiamond or any of the BTC forks. But this one looks different.I will keep u update with what will happen on Monday. And if you have some LTCs around, it will do not harm you to put them in another wallet just for two days ;)

But why copy another coin's name? Why not just pick something fresh and build it. If only there were a regulatory body, then these kind of issues would not even be a topic of debate?

EXACTLY
at the very least, even if it's legit other wise...it's theft of brand
which doesn't bode well to me.
bite your tongue about regulatory body
that would be worse..MUCH worse.

THANK YOU FOR POSTING THIS. I get tired of seeing people out there always trying to grift their way into a fast buck. It seems as if no one is really interested in EARNING their keep anymore.....the world has become nothing but scammers it seems...

it might SEEM that way (it's not) but sometimes it sure looks like it.
thank you.

thank you for the vote sir.. much appreciated. this small minnow ain't making squat these days.. gotta ger my SP built up.... between trying to make a living in the real world, and two rotator cuff surgeries, i haven't been on here much in the last 6-8 months.. i'll get there.

you're welcome.
it's easier now than it ever has been.
imagine... what we'd have thought about $ 4.277454055875 and $ 5.25914755 SteemDollar six or eight months ago?

@everittdmickey thank you for share this.

More valuable & informative blog.Thanks for sharing.
@Resteem & follow has bee done.,

Ok follow me

I can transfer 😀

Confusions are there for Rookies, who doesnt know the crypto in first stage but all they do is clicking and gets mistaken.

perhaps that's the point?
I've heard that confusion over BitCoin, BitCoinCash, BitCoinGold and gawd knows what else...has resulted in a LOT of lost coins...

Indeed! little knowledge is bad knowledge.

thanks for this, good article

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64192.94
ETH 2764.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65