You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Exploring the Practice of Self Voting & Upvote Rings.

in #discussion7 years ago (edited)
Funny you post on this topic. Was just talking to someone the other day about how some of these bigger guys yak about self voting and circle jerk rings and we know for a fact, they're being entirely hypocritical. Steemit is not just a social media platform for some people. It's a business and those that treat it as such are the same people saying you shouldn't do this or that and they're doing it themselves housing multiple accounts and upvoting their inner circles. Then, they get mad when other people do it? Can't agree. You should be able to put your vote wherever you want, how you want. It is YOURS. No one else's. To dictate how a person should or shouldn't vote infringes upon the decentralization of the platform and makes it less appealing. Should you reward good content? Of course! But at the same time, I see posts that are total shit getting upvoted by a dozen different bots that have no discretion of content and also see sold votes for total garbage. Votes bought from accounts that hold stature. You want to talk what's really wrong with the platform? Start there. The people that treat it like a business and use their oppressive big ogre thumbs to press their own agendas.
Sort:  

Hey @enginewitty, I hope your ire isn't directly at me, we generally agree that it is your right to do with your stake whatever you like.

I do feel there is abuse of the system, and there is a level of hypocrisy from some people who are very much about "Do what I say, not what I do".

There was actually a portion of the article that we decided to pull out as it had to do with a post from @jerrybanfield. Since he has become a bit of a lightning rod over the last couple of days, we decided to leave it out. But he talks about how some of the top paid authors on Steem are upvoting themselves consistantly.

If you would like further reading check out that post here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@jerrybanfield/self-upvoting-by-the-top-100-authors-on-steem

Maybe we could get @rycharde and @stellabelle to come in and discuss a little more about their take. Anybody know anybody? LOL

Not even in the slightest is this meant as a jab at you my man. I've just been seeing a lot of posts and finally decided it was time I put my opinion on the table. I actually read that article when it came out and was really confused by it as he brought up many valid points. One of the first ones I think I actually read on the whole self-voting bit. It's just been slowly churning ever since.

Also, I'm under the impression you must not have caught the article I wrote shortly after reading this...feel free to browse.
Extreme Opinion on Self-Voting and Upvotes

I read jerry's post at the time and was highly disturbed by his findings. When I realized the big guys were mostly voting for themselves or each other with bots, that was kind of a bad moment for me. I'm new and my upvote is worth about 12 cents now. I have 1200 delegated steem and will keep that going for a while.

I upvote my few posts each week and will upvote my comments once in a while if I want them to rise to the top of a crowded post. But mostly I'm voting for curation and to increase my sp, influence, range with the platform, and to help support others.

My biggest discouragement on steemit is the overuse of bots and the lack of engagement on posts. I try my best to be a "good citizen" and encourage those below me with comments, upvotes, resteems, and shares on my other social media.

To find out the 98% of the steemit wealth is being recycled at the top while 98% of the engagement is generated by bots is very upsetting to me. I have no idea what the answer is. I only hope those of us who are new can help bring change. I decided to ignore the whales for now as they are just too far out of my league to even contemplate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62221.65
ETH 2424.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55