Starting a Discussion about buying either silver bullion or higer premium silver

in #discussion7 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone on Steemit!! Welcome to D Wing's World: Where information and adventure await!! I am constructing this post as a reaction to a post by @timcliff about a new tag. I think it is a great idea to open it up to all those on Steemit and get a real talk going. I know that in the silver and gold community there are several topics that people are passionate about and that is what I will try to be targeting with these types of post. So without further rambling I will go into what I am thinking about.

I want to discuss what is the best buying option when it comes to silver and gold. Should we be buying strictly bullion (generics) at as close to spot price as possible? Maybe buying semi-numismatics like pandas or kooks. From there you can also introduce poured silver and whether you think this will be a better bang for your buck than regular minted bullion or coins.

Right now I will disclose most of my strategy. I focus right now on getting bullion as close to spot as possible, but if I find something I really like (Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse Rounds Set) I will pay a little premium if I think I can make my money back. However, I still try to buy as close to spot as possible while knowing I will be holding my stack for a fairly long time.

Please let me know what you think and do #discussion post on your own! Thank you guys so much for looking! Please resteem, upvote, and reply!! Thanks- D Wing

Sort:  

@dwingsworld , this is a topic that has been talked about a lot. So I will give my opinion, I am a weight stacker, I buy to collect weight. About 80% of my stack is generic bullion bars and rounds. Now I do sometimes by collections if nothing is really at a good price as far as for generics. I do believe that when the price is finally at a fair market value, it really wont make a difference what you paid for it. But I think the most important part of this topic is.... stack what you like, just as long as you are stcking.

Thanks so much for your input brother! I am think that my mind set is a lot like yours. I buy what I like, but I am primarily interested in the base (spot) value of silver so I keep trying to get as close as possible. This allows me to make sure I am not losing too much and that when spot does shot up I am always in a great position. I always tell people buy what you like and guys what if you are stuck with it then you are still happy. The set I mentioned in the article is one that I really enjoy. I am hoping that I will be able to sell the full set as soon as it completes for a very nice profit, however if I am stuck with it I will be happy. Instead of one Four Horsemen set I have two hehehehe. Thanks for the reply buddy!

I buy the cheapest I can find. Usually that is generic bullion and Canadian 80% dollars. The dollar coins are always my preference.

Thanks for letting me in on your style and technique! I definitely am with you on the cheapest I can thing lol. I look at spot and try to get as close as possible leaning toward bullion and semi-numismatics I like. Not to mention the beauty of poured silver! There is a whole different market for that stuff and it is truly interesting to get in to! Thanks so much for your take on the question!!

Stacking for weight is smart, and probably the least risky move when it comes to investing in silver. However, when one's hobby takes on a life of its own, and the pleasure of holding valuable works of art and examples of scarcity creep into the equation, then the semi's come into play. Certain Kooks and pretty much any Panda that's a full 31.1 grams are going for many dollars above spot. And i believe this trend will continue.
If it's just about investing with no eye to the vehicle of your investment, then weight stacking is prob the best bet. But if ya wanna add a little style to the hoard, and increase the pleasure this affords -- not to mention the possibility of steep premiums certain pieces will enjoy -- then semi-numis stacking mixed in with piling it up begins to make a lot of sense.

As an example, check out 'the Slave Queen' by SBSS -- it has blown spot right out of the water!

Cheers! from @thedamus

Stacking for weight is smart, and probably the least risky move when it comes to investing in silver. However, when one's hobby takes on a life of its own, and the pleasure of holding valuable works of art and examples of scarcity creep into the equation, then the semi's come into play. Certain Kooks and pretty much any Panda that's a full 31.1 grams are going for many dollars above spot. And i believe this trend will continue.
If it's just about investing with no eye to the vehicle of your investment, then weight stacking is prob the best bet. But if ya wanna add a little style to the hoard, and increase the pleasure this affords -- not to mention the possibility of steep premiums certain pieces will enjoy -- then semi-numis stacking mixed in with piling it up begins to make a lot of sense.

As an example, check out 'the Slave Queen' by SBSS -- it has blown spot right out of the water!

Cheers! from @thedamus

?

not sure what happened there...

Lol me either, however the point of view is fantastic. I think a good number of us fall into a mixed category. I did a post way back at the start of my Steemit career about the different types of stackers and how there is almost always a cross section between different types. Basically, even if we have a primary goal we still may go off and buy higher premium silver at times or venture into just constitutional. We are very interesting thats for sure. Thanks for the reply buddy!

Cheers! I thought i was (pretty much) a straight bullion guy until i went FUCKING HARD at the "junk" last month. I was thinkin' ten bars and i came out of the store with a shit-ton of BU Canadian halves...and, i feel like a Boss!

🤘😎

Lol yea its amazing once the bug bites you what ypu end up with! Well done on the Canadian halves!

I stack all over so far, but I just got into it and I wanted a bit of everything. Got generic, premium coins, numismatic coins, poured bars and stuff like ASE's. I like ASE's as my Local coin shop will pay $1 over spot for those if I were to sell, generic bullion pays $1 under spot. I do the math at the time and find what is the better deal at the time. But now I have coins that I like I am going to concentrate on generic and getting the weight up on my stack. Although poured bars have a special spot in my heart.

Grizzman thank you for the in depth break down on your stacking! I think that like you I love all the types and different forms of silver. I have constitutional/ poured/ ASE's/bullion/ and some numismatic coins in slabs. I love the precious metal just as much as I love the designs and forms it can take. I am with you on the poured bars. I always am in awe of those that are skilled and able to craft such fine items where others can not even see it. Thank you for taking the time to join the discussion!!

Congratulations @dwingsworld! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @dwingsworld! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75